TWIR #67: exhaustion reigns

It has been a week, my friends. Starting a new job is no cakewalk for the energy levels. I wrote a whole post about it that never saw the day of light because I was too tired to edit and post it.  My workouts have been the best they could be in light of the fact that my schedule has not been my own and I am still trying to figure out what’s culturally acceptable in terms of mid-day workouts at my new job. The only thing I know for sure is that I’m tired. So, so, so tired.

Saturday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 6.5 (painfully hard) km
Observations: Have you ever thought it was a good idea to throw your own birthday party? Let me spare you the trouble: it’s not. I spent the whole day running around buying food and drink, and getting the house tidied. I had to cram a run in first thing in the morning, which is my least favourite time of day for a run. It felt awful start to finish, but at least it was early enough that it wasn’t hot out yet.

Sunday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: cake for breakfast! golf! gelato! more cake!
Observations: Birthdays are supposed to be gluttonous, right? I firmly believe so, and my own personal challenge seemed to be how much crap I could consume in one day.  At least we walked a fair bit and golfed. I doubt either did anything to combat the calories, but you only turn 38 once.

Monday 
Activity: cardio warmup + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. spin + 20 min. strength
Observations: This was by far my worst workout of the week. My legs felt like lead on the bike. I had zero interest in strength training. It was a true workout fail. Mondays. Ugh.

Tuesday 
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: This workout can be summed up by the following phrase: return of the negative pull ups. Damn I hate those things. Everything else in the workout was hard but manageable, but those negative pull ups leave me hating life. I guess the pushups were also kind of painful, but I am starting to accept them as a necessary evil of working with a trainer.

Wednesday 
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 7 km (without coffee!)
Observations: I forgot to set the coffee maker, which meant a caffeine-free early-morning workout, something that I never do. Apparently, I should do it more often. While by no means was this an easy run, I also didn’t feel like I was going to die. It may have helped that I was able to run oceanside in the cool, morning sunshine.  I have missed my waterfront runs since moving to the suburbs.

Thursday 
Activity: spin
Relevant Stats: 50 min.
Observations: Hallelujah for a decent cardio workout! Fuelled by feeling utterly overwhelmed, I did more sprints that I’ve ever done in the course of a spin workout and I hate sprints. I also had a good, old-fashioned, cathartic cry on the drive home so it was a rewarding day for the body and spirit.

Friday 
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 45 min.
Observations: After an unexpectedly wonderful commute downtown and an earlier-than-expected arrival at the gym, I had high hopes for a stellar workout to round out the week. It didn’t quite meet my expectations. It was a solid strength workout, but not as intense or lengthy as I’d wanted. I might blame forgetting to set the coffee pot (again! ugh!) for this one. As much as it didn’t seem to make a difference for my run, I do think coffee helps with early-morning strength workouts.

Sure, it wasn’t a banner week for workouts, but I am highly impressed that I worked out every single workday. I promise you it didn’t feel easy some mornings when the comfort of bed was almost too much to tear myself away from. Now at least it is Friday. For a moment I thought that meant sleeping in, but I fear weekend sleep-ins will do nothing but wreak havoc on my workday sleep cycle.  Working life, what a drag. I sometimes wonder why I decided to go back…

Leave a Reply

