TWIR #66: oh insufferable heat

We pacific northwesters are so delicate when it comes to heat. We complain bitterly about the never-ending rain and grey skies that plague us for about 10 months of the year, and then when the sun finally graces us with its presence we all walk around saying things like “ugh, can you believe this heat?” You just can’t please us. I am typically a fan of the sunshine and warmth so long as I don’t have to do anything terribly taxing.  But let me tell you, it takes a toll on my running, which has already taken a bad hit this past year.  On top of that starting a new job threw my workout schedule into a tizzy. Translation: this was a bad week for workouts.

Saturday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 9-hole round of golf + campground-walks-with-wine
Observations: I had really good intentions of running. Really good.  I don’t even know what happened but the option of golf was presented to me and I’m determined to get better so I had to say yes. Then by the time we got back it was hella hot and the only solution was to drink poolside ciders. Obviously.

Sunday
Activity: sort-of-planned rest day
Relevant Stats: 9-hole round of golf + laziness
Observations: I knew a proper Sunday workout wouldn’t happen after Saturday’s cider and wine fiesta. Plus it was hella hot again. We opted for another round of golf. Although not at all strenuous, standing around in the sun waiting for my turn to tee off made me sweat enough to fool myself into thinking I’d worked out.

Monday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 6 km
Observations: Determined not to let the whole long weekend get away from me without at least one workout, I forced myself to run. After a weekend of laziness and drinking, it did not feel good. I am amazed I even lasted 6 km.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations:  We were back to our usual training shenanigans, which meant all manner of unenjoyable exercises.  This week’s worst exercise prize went to pulling a prowler loaded with weights while doing walking lunges. I’ve always felt bad for animals that have to haul lazy humans around (horse-drawn carriages, dog sleds, etc.). Now I feel even more sorry for them.

Wednesday
Activity: attempted run
Relevant Stats: 3 km (no, that’s not a typo)
Observations: This run went nowhere fast, literally. I had zero gas in the tank, zero motivation, and it was so, so hot even though it was only 10:30 in the morning. After one particularly long uphill stretch, I called it quits. Also, the steady flow of sweat dripping down my back and into my pants (I know, it’s TMI) was very unpleasant. I thought I’d go to the gym to make this into a decent workout, but it was my last day of freedom before starting work so I opted for 48 Hours Mysteries instead. I think that was the right call.

Thursday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: first day of work…eek!
Observations: I knew I wasn’t likely to fit in a workout and I was right. Between the ungodly early morning and meeting a million new people, which is about my least favourite thing, I was ready to crawl into bed by 4:30 pm. I haven’t had a headache in ages, but I had a raging one by the time I got home. It wasn’t a bad day, but man going back to work is rough. I barely made it to 9pm before falling into an epically deep slumber.

Friday
Activity: cardio warmup + strength training
Relevant Stats: 15 min. spin + 20 min. strength
Observations: This wasn’t the workout that I envisioned. I had great hopes of a full hour workout. Somehow I underestimated the commute downtown combined with the walk to the gym and found myself short on time.  I worked up a good sweat but even I know it still wasn’t enough to make up for the rest of the week.

This is a shameful workout recap. I am going to blame the heat even though I know that wasn’t really the cause. I like a good scapegoat.  All I have to say right now is TGIF.

I feel you man.
2 thoughts on “TWIR #66: oh insufferable heat”

Leave a Reply

