TWIR #65: energy rebound

I am not at all religious but I’d like to say a big thank the lord almighty that my energy seems to have returned this week. Maybe it was the extra rest days I’ve been scattering throughout my week, which begs the question of whether I should always take more rest days. Or maybe, maybe I’m just a master at finding any avenue to be lazy. No matter, it was a better week. Let’s just leave it at that.

Saturday
Activity: run/hike
Relevant Stats: unknown distance, 40 minutes
Observations: I started with a hill run that felt like death care of my our weekend getaway being in a town about 500m higher in elevation than our home town.  Then I discovered a network of trails and had to keep climbing and climbing because that is what I do when I discover trails that lead to better views. It was worth it, and I felt much less guilty about all the wine consumption later that night.

Sunday
Activity: sort of planned rest day
Relevant Stats: high amounts of car-sitting
Observations: Well, I could have revisited my trails Sunday morning, but I just didn’t want to. Instead, we had a leisurely morning before packing up the car and heading home, which was fine until we hit the Fraser Valley at which point the never-ending stop and go traffic made me want to tear my hair out. I wasn’t even the one driving. Road rage is real my friends.

Monday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: mother f*@#ing carpet cleaning completed
Observations: I will never again in my life clean carpets myself. My lower back was wrecked from two measly sets of stairs. Between the carpet cleaning and errand running, I had little time nor energy left for a workout. I attempted a run and made it half a block before my lower back said a flat out “bitch please!”

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: OMG I broke a full on sweat and my legs were burning by the end. We took it up a few notches and had a legit workout and suddenly I realized that my two weeks of abstaining from any real strength training was palpable in every single one of my muscles. Note to self: don’t slack on strength training anymore.

Wednesday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 7 km
Observations: It was the perfect day for a run. It was cool and overcast and I was psyched to run without heat. You can probably predict that the cool and overcast weather lasted for about 1 km of my run. Murphy’s Law clearly states that the sweltering sun will come out at the precise moment I think that I’ve lucked out with perfect running temperatures.

Thursday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: I strength trained on my own! And with full sets! And mostly with full weights! I even forced myself to do negative pull ups. After the last two weeks, I considered this to be a major feat.

Friday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: My plan today was to do a short hike in the Fraser Valley, but apparently hoards of people trying to make an early long weekend getaway wreaked havoc on the highway.  All I know is that it wasn’t moving and our radio traffic station listed at list four major problems. The hike wasn’t meant to be. It then took me almost an hour to get myself off the highway and to the gym. Excellent use of time. At least my workout was a good one. I feel good about a couple of decent strength workouts this week since I’ve been slacking in that department lately.  With this workout in the books, I’m ready for the weekend. Bring on the sunshine, beer and campfire hot dogs!

Let’s keep this train rolling and let’s celebrate the moment that seemed to spur on a decent week of workouts:

Yesssssssss.

Happy weekend.

Leave a Reply

