TWIR #62: these weak arms will be the death of me

Welp. After nearly four months of carefree, injury-less living, I tweaked my SI this week. It was bound to happen, I suppose. Still, I was irritated by it.  I’m not in a lot of pain this time around. It’s really only sharp and random movements that are causing aggravation and even that’s pretty minor.  Plus, it was raining all week so I had little desire to hike or run anyway. Look at me, finding silver linings.  Let’s bring the rambling to an end and see what I got up to this week:

Saturday
Activity: hike
Relevant Stats: 12 km
Observations:  Sunshine! Warmth! And on a WEEKEND (!!!)…uh, not that every day isn’t a weekend for me. I got up early and hit the local mountains for a relatively easy jaunt on the trails, combining a few partial trails for a total of 12k. My early start allowed me to escape nature before it got hella hot. By mid-afternoon, we were on the lookout for a way to escape the heat, so we hopped in the car and headed to our campsite, where we swam for a while before walking way, way, way too much and attempting to play tennis against a wall with a wiffle ball (not easy). My legs were done by night’s end. Thankfully roasted hot dogs and wine eased the pain.

Sunday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: delicious gelato discovered
Observations: On the way back from the campsite, we took a swing into White Rock for an ocean front stroll and gelato. I remember nothing else from the day because good gelato trumps everything.

Monday
Activity: hike
Relevant Stats: 11 km
Observations: I thought a day off would refresh my legs, but it did not. I hiked a trail I’ve done a million times and one that’s pretty damn easy, if I do say so myself. It killed me. My legs felt dead and I was literally dripping sweat (okay, it was also really warm out). Clearly, at my current fitness level, three hikes in four days, no matter how easy, is too much.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 45 min. legit workout/15 min. sad, pitiful workout
Observations:  This is when my weak arms and shoulders let me down. After sets of hanging exercises, negative pull ups and full tricep push ups, my arms were done like dinner. Then we, and by “we” I mean my trainer, upped the weights on our deadlifts. It turned out to be a bad combo.  My tired arms and shoulders lost their form and I tweaked my SI. I seriously wonder at what point my arms will stop feeling like jello from activities that seem like they should feel easier over time. I would like it to be soon.

Wednesday
Activity: cardio warmup + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. stairs + 60 min. strength
Observations: Even though my SI tweak was minor, running was out of the question for the rest of the week. It was back to basics instead. My goal was to focus on form, reduce the weight load, and get in a good strength workout. It seems to be the cure-all for my temperamental SI and, sure enough, I felt better after my workout.

Thursday
Activity: cardio warmup + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. stairs + 60 min. strength
Observations: Another day of cautionary strength training was on the menu. This time around, I started to increase my weights again and incorporated more stability-focused, single-leg exercises, all completed sans SI aggravation. Win! I rewarded myself with extra peanut butter M & Ms, because I firmly believe that any success, no matter how small, should be rewarded with fat and sugar. This is also why I need to work out on the regular. Sigh.

Friday
Activity: spin + strength
Relevant Stats: 30 min. spin + 30 min. strength
Observations: Good God, I haven’t spun in ages and I forgot how hard it can be. Then, in efforts to make negative pull ups not feel like death, I forced myself to do some on my own. They were even less enjoyable at the gym where I’m certain anyone around me was horrified by my face progressing from pale to red to purple care of my excessive upper body exertion.  I have to keep believing that these will get easier one day…

Now that I’ve survived the week (relatively) unscathed, it’s time to enjoy the return of the sunshine, a couple days of arm recovery (because, seriously, my arms are dead), and a glass of wine or two (or five). Happy weekend!

Leave a Reply

