TWIR #61: sunshine!

Omg, Spring has finally arrived in my neck of the woods. It has been warm. There has been sunshine. I know it’s banal to talk about the weather, but seriously we’ve had the wettest, greyest, most thoroughly depressing Fall/Winter season so this is news worth celebrating. What about my workouts, you ask? Well, they’ve been okay too:

Saturday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 65 min (I think?)
Observations: To be perfectly honest, I forgot to make note of my workouts throughout the week and I cannot recall exactly what I did. It’s possible there was a pre-strength-training cardio component.  I remember the important things from Saturday, though, things like going for a walk through the old ‘hood with my friends and their little ones, and going for fish n’ chips at the beach. Doesn’t that sound more fun than details of my workout?

Sunday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: 8 km river walk with patio refueling break
Observations: There’s this wonderful trail near our place where we can walk 4 km in one direction, encounter a charming little heritage town, and then walk 4 km back to our car. What’s wonderful is that little town half way along the trail has all manner of sins to encourage you to stop. There’s a delightful bakery, there’s a craft brewery, and there’s a riverfront pub with a patio. We opted for cider (well, for me) and nachos on the patio. Now, there’s no real need for refueling after 4 km of leisurely walking, but…dammit, it was sunny and sunshine calls for patios.

Monday
Activity: semi-planned rest day
Relevant Stats: pitch & putt + driving range
Observations: I contemplated an actual workout after our morning round of pitch & putt but we were just having too much fun. I know that’s a pretty flimsy excuse and I don’t care.  Instead, we walked to the driving range, hit some balls, and chilled out on the patio with some beer and appies. Seriously, it hasn’t been sunny in what feels like months. There was no sense wasting perfectly good long weekend patio weather.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session + short cardio
Relevant Stats: 60 min. training + 20 min. spin
Observations: I have a love/hate relationship with my trainer. I dread our sessions because I never know what new cruelty she will unleash on me, but I also love seeing the gains. This week’s torture was a new variation on prior hanging exercises, wherein I was told to slowly lower myself from above the bars to an active hang over the course of 30 seconds. Ugh.

Wednesday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 8.75 km!
Observations: Finally! A decent run.  It started off rocky, but by the time I got onto the farm country road, I was feeling like if I just kept my pace slow and steady, I might just have a good run. I was right. I did my full “farm loop” as I like to call it, and even survived the final hill, which really isn’t that big a hill but feels big these days. I did forget to stretch upon my return, though, which led to some seriously tight hamstrings by evening.

Thursday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 70 min.
Observations:  Too lazy to drive to a trailhead for a hike, I opted to get my strength on. I upped some of my weights for some extra challenge…well, and because my gym sucks and bars and weights mysteriously go missing all the time. You never know what equipment you’ll have access to. I cannot wait to find a new gym when my membership expires.  I also decided to keep my phone on me all day to see how many steps I take just doing random house work throughout the day. Though I occasionally forgot to put my phone in my pocket, it was interesting to see that I walked just shy of 2 km just doing housework!

Friday
Activity: hike
Relevant Stats: 8 km + bonus km when I decided to see if the logging road was faster than the bottom part of the trail. Not only was it not faster, it led to a dead end. Ugh.
Observations: Finally, I got off my lazy ass and drove to a trail. It turns out my recent lack of motivation to drive to trailheads may not have been pure laziness.  Prior to my car’s recent $2000 service, any time I drove the highway for extended periods I felt like my engine might explode at any second.  As it turns out, I should have been more worried about my wheels suddenly flying off and/or losing total control of the vehicle, because since the ball joints and struts and something else related to that was fixed highway driving feels fine. Yay to driving safely to more hikes!  But enough about driving. As for the hike, it was both painful and lovely in the way that only happens when you’re out of shape for hiking. To be honest, I didn’t want to keep going past the 2km point, but I kept bargaining with myself (“I’ll just walk another few hundred metres and see how I feel”) and somehow made it to the top. I was dreaming of beer the entire time.

Today’s hike has also confirmed that, though my legs are just as strong (if not stronger) than in the past, my hiking fitness is way, way off. Today’s trail is one I used to hike all the time as an easy maintenance hike. I use to fly up the trail whereas today I felt like I was moving at a snail’s pace.  Sigh. Still, nothing is going to get me down because this has been a good week of workouts and I have an entire weekend of sunshine ahead of me. And somewhere (like inside my fridge), a bottle of rose is calling me.

Leave a Reply

