TWIR #59: The pain!

This week was all putting up with minor pain. This whole aging body thing is super uncool, if you ask me.  I used to bounce back like a champ. Sigh. Still, I managed to get back to some decent workouts, and a triumphant post-ankle-sprain return to running. Wahoo!

Saturday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 30 min.
Observations: I initially wrapped my ankle for some extra support but it was dull aching within minutes. I tried unwrapping it to see if it would help, and it did, but only temporarily. Most of this run was very unpleasant for my poor ankle so I cut it pretty short. However, I’m giving major props to myself for running at all. We were out for birthday lunch and celebrations which involved a gargantuan amount of eating and not getting home until 4:30. The cards were stacked against me for fitting in a workout at all. Also, if you were wondering, eating large quantities of rice and noodles and all things deliciously Cambodian and Vietnamese does not make for a good run.

Sunday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 85 min.
Observations: After downing a pecan mudslide Saturday night, I knew I had to fit in a good workout. My ankle was still a bit achy, so I opted to avoid the cardio. I did a killer strength training workout that left my glutes with intense DOMS.

Monday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 7 km
Observations: Thankfully my ankle seemed back to normal by Monday (i.e. I beat it into submission with the last two day’s workouts), so I hit the road for another run.  Though my ankle was fine, this run was still tough. I am constantly amazed by how much running fitness I’ve lost over the last year. I’m not sure why it surprises me since I really haven’t worked hard to rebuild my cardio fitness, yet it does.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session + short cardio session
Relevant Stats: 60 min. training + 20 min. spin
Observations: Sweet holy hell. After one day of pain-free running, my trainer took me to a whole new world of upper body pain.  All it took was four sets of three hanging exercises. I would try to explain them in writing but I am certain it would be incredibly confusing. Suffice it to say, my arms were jello by the end of the workout and continued to worsen throughout the day. Even picking up a glass of water hurt.

Wednesday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 7.5 km
Observations: You wouldn’t think that running could possibly hurt your arms, but you would be wrong. I awoke to such a stiff upper body (arms, shoulders, neck and even around my rib cage) that I knew that strength training was out of the question. Since running is predominantly a lower body activity, I thought it would be safe. I was wrong. Every swing of the arms was excruciating. Damn you, personal trainer, damn you.

Thursday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 20 min. stairs + 45 min. strength
Observations: My arms. My poor arms. They were still in a world of pain, yet I still cautiously ventured to the gym aiming to work my lower half. The problem with this approach is that most of my lower body activities still require carrying weights with my arms. I tried my best to avoid engaging my biceps, which are the most tender of the muscle groups, but only time will tell if this was successful. I rewarded myself with an IKEA frozen yogurt which I recall being about 10x bigger than what I was served. It was a highly disappointing reward, especially since I had to endure IKEA crowds just to get it.

Friday
Activity: run
Relevant Stats: 41 min.
Observations:  This is my first 3-run week in months! I am trying not to overdue it with distance until I see how my SI responds, which was particularly easy today  since, between yesterday’s leg and glute workout and the fact that it still hurts to swing my arms, I was in full-body exhaustion and discomfort. I cannot WAIT for a rest day tomorrow.

Until then, there’s Friday wine and hours and hours of Players Championship golf to catch up on. Happy Friday to me.

Leave a Reply

