Real Talk Thursdays: I’ve been completely frivolous this week…and I haven’t felt better!

This week is the first week that I have absolutely no meetings, phone calls, or interviews. This should be anxiety-inducing since this means zero work prospects. Even worse, I haven’t done a single thing other than send one email to a company I’ve been chatting to about contract work.  That’s right. I am unemployed and I sent one email this whole week, booked zero meetings, and have generally done absolutely nothing related to my career.  Instead, I have been entirely frivolous with my time.

If you don’t believe me, here’s just a smattering of the utterly unproductive and largely unnecessary things I have done so far this week:

–watched 9 episodes of Nashville, 4 episodes of Cake Wars and, for reasons I don’t at all understand, 2 episodes of LIVE with Kelly.

–made “freezer waffles” (i.e. waffles that I freeze for future consumption), banana cookies,  lemon squares, and mini lemon blueberry buttermilk cakes

–gone for multiple mid-day walks often accompanied by phone conversations with my parents (perks of retired parents: they can actually talk on the phone mid-day)

–met a friend to wander the beach and get gelato (though, much to my anger and in contradiction to their posted hours, the gelato place was not open…I have still not recovered from this)

–fell down the rabbit hole reading Ask Polly posts , which led me down another rabbit hole reading Dear Sugar posts. Couldn’t. Stop.

So yeah, that’s a whole lot of me doing whatever I feel like doing in the moment, all of which are things that are most certainly not going to help me generate an income any time soon. You’d think I’d be a ball of anxiety, starting to panic perhaps, feeling all sorts of discouraged and crappy about things.

Nope.

I have to tell you that this is the first week in a long time that I’ve felt good. It’s the first week that I’ve had energy, that I haven’t dragged my exhausted ass to bed at 9:30 or taken a late afternoon nap. I’ve gotten less sleep and feel way better. I’ve felt calmer and, dare I say, happier.  The only thing I can attribute this to is that I’m not filled with dread knowing that I have to go out and essentially try to convince people (and myself!) that I’m interested in my profession. It’s delightfully liberating so, as much as I should probably be infinitely more productive, I’m just going to allow myself to enjoy these few days of frivolity entirely guilt free.

Leave a Reply

