TWIR #56: Evil Ankle Strikes Again

As predicted last week, my week of workouts got off to a pretty poor start care of my parent’s visit. It’s not really fair to blame them. They would’ve been fine with me ditching them for a workout or two. Nonetheless, the weekend turned out to be a write-off.  I tried to bounce back during the week but I have to admit my motivation has still been lacking.  I consider myself fortunate that I’ve built a strong, habitual pattern of working out or I’m sure I would’ve abandoned exercise entirely these last few weeks. As it is, the quality and duration of most of my workouts isn’t what I hoped it would be by now. And then, then there was the whole ankle thing….

Let’s get this over with.

Saturday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 16 km of walking + one gelato + fish and chips
Observations: Well, at least I walked a lot right? Just ignore the fact that we had waffles for breakfast, that we ate gelato mid-afternoon, and that I ate my weight in fish and chips. Oh, and then there was the wine…So, yeah, all that walking did nothing.

Sunday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: 12 km walking + deep fried pickles
Observations:  Once again, there was a lot of walking…but coupled with a lot of eating and drinking. There was another big breakfast (eggs and home-made hot cross buns). There was beer and deep fried pickles. There was apple crumble with ice cream. On the plus side, despite having a giant basket of Easter candy (that, yes, my parents still hid for me), I didn’t touch a single piece!

Monday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 25 min. stairs + 45 min. strength
Observations: Determined to get back to exercise, I got up early and hit the gym. I fit in a pretty decent workout before heading home, hosting lunch for six, and then cooking one last family dinner while my parents were in town. If you’re paying attention, you’ll notice it was yet another day that revolved around food. What can I say? My family likes to eat.

Tuesday
Activity: Run!!!
Relevant Stats: 7.75 km
Observations: I had a couple important meetings in the afternoon and wanted to clear my head with a nice little run.  It worked. I was sluggish all morning but managed a decent run. My legs felt like lead for the first 20 minutes but I ran them into submission.

Wednesday
Activity: cardio warm up + personal training session
Relevant Stats: 20 min. spin + 60 min. personal training
Observations: I got to my trainer’s studio way early so I hit the gym for a bit of pre-session spin. Of course I did this on the day when my trainer had me doing 100 lb deadlifts and RUNNING with 110 pounds on the prowler. Oh, we also did more hanging exercises, which I despise, partly because they’re giving me calluses on the pads of my hands. Blech.

Thursday
Activity: cardio + strength
Relevant Stats: 30 min. spin + 30 min. strength
Observations: It was a miracle I made it to the gym. It was a total sad sack day for me, and I wanted nothing more than to stay home all day doing absolutely nothing. However, I had a meeting I had to go to, so I figured I might as well work out beforehand. It wasn’t a great workout, and my legs and arms were still killing me from my personal training session, but I did it.

Friday
Activity: Run(ish)
Relevant Stats: 7 km + 1 rolled ankle (wah waaaaah)
Observations:  I was feeling good today. I was having a great run, in fact. The sun was shining, the air was warm, I was finally running without a jacket (!!!!) and it was glorious. Until I turned my ankle on a rock and catapulted myself forward. Thankfully no one was around to witness the spectacle as my arms windmilled in efforts to keep me from bailing. The only thing that saved me from a total face plant on the gravel path was a wooden post. I was able to brace myself against it. Damn you weak ankles! I suppose this means a week or two without running. Just when I was feeling good about things…

As I sit here RICE-ing my sad ankle, I can only give this week a:

 

 

One thought on “TWIR #56: Evil Ankle Strikes Again”

Leave a Reply

