TWIR #55: not another week of this!

Man, I simply did not want to work out yet again this week. I can see no reason for this, which makes it doubly frustrating. Feel free to mock me for my pathetic efforts this week, and to tell me I’ll never get back in shape at this rate.

Saturday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: distance unknown
Observations: It’s probably telling that I can’t even remember how far I ran. I think the run was okay overall, but only okay. I recall feeling somewhat sluggish for at least the first 15 minutes, until my body finally resigned itself to the fact that we were going to continue running. What I do remember about Saturday is I had my final hockey game soft-serve waffle cone of the season while watching my beloved Oilers win. That’s a winning combination (see what I did there?).

Sunday
Activity: strength
Relevant Stats: 55 min. strength
Observations: I had zero desire to work out on Sunday. I wanted nothing more than to lay on the couch watching the Masters while simultaneously devouring a very tasty looking apple fritter.  In fact, I should thank that apple fritter for getting me to the gym. I suspected it would taste better if it followed a workout, and I was right.

Monday
Activity: sort of planned rest day
Relevant Stats: 1.5 hours pacing while attempting to memorize a presentation
Observations: Tuesday was meant to be my rest day, but the rain wouldn’t stop falling and then I got panicked about a presentation I’m designing and I couldn’t seem to wrap my head around a workout. Instead, I spent the better part of a whole day designing a 20 minute presentation (which is absolutely ridiculous) and consuming far too much Munchie Mix.

Tuesday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 10 min. stairs + 10 min. spin + 40 min. strength
Observations: It was all I could do to last an hour. I tried stairs and hated them. I tried the spin bike and hated it, too. I gave strength training a try and can’t say that I liked it much better, but I hung on for dear life and managed to stick it out for an hour at the gym. Ugh.

Wednesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: I know I say this every week, but my trainer really is way too giddy about my steady improvements. She just keeps adding more and more things to torture my poor shoulders.  My legs seem to withstand anything she throws at me, but my arms and shoulders are constantly screaming out for mercy. And they never get any.

Thursday
Activity: cardio warmup + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. stairs + 55 min. strength
Observations: I intended to run but my parents are visiting and it was late afternoon before I knew it. One thing that tends to be consistent about me is that if I don’t run in the morning I won’t run at all. I settled for the gym instead. I may not be gaining running fitness but, damn it, I’m going to be strong.

Friday
Activity: “run”
Relevant Stats:  20 min.
Observations: We have guests. I ate a big breakfast. We ran out of time before family dinner with my boyfriend’s parents. All of these are excuses I offer for the lame 20-minute “run” that capped off my week of sad and sorry workouts. I am not proud of myself, but I suppose it’s better than doing absolutely nothing.

I think we can all agree this was (once again) not a banner week for workouts. Even after two weeks of ultra low workout motivation, I still have no inner drive to push it hard next week. In fact, I fear the remainder of this weekend will continue to feature completely half-assed workouts and will likely be coupled with ample Easter candy. Lord help me.

Happy Easter y’all. May Cadbury Creme Eggs find their way into your weekend.

Leave a Reply

