TWIR #54: Energy Crash

Well, after a pretty good collection of workouts last week, I hit a wall of exhaustion last weekend and spent most of the week trying to bounce back.  Some days were better than others, but mostly my mind and body felt tired.  Without further adieu, here’s what I got up to:

Saturday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: somehow I still walked 13 km
Observations:  I love a good errand day. I realize this probably sounds strange, but it’s extra special when you’re redeeming points and gift cards and having a whole day of errands, shopping and lunch for free.  Win.

Sunday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: ultra high laziness + fro yo for lunch
Observations: I had good intentions of running on Sunday, I really did. Every time I contemplated actually getting up, though, my body resisted. So did my mental state. I wasn’t feeing it.  By 2:00 in the afternoon, I accepted that a workout wasn’t happening. My boyfriend, who realized that leaving me curled up on the couch all day wasn’t going to make things better, at least took me out for a long walk. Although, that long walk is also when I ate frozen yogurt topped with candy…as lunch…so…

Monday
Activity: hike
Relevant Stats: 5 km return, unknown elevation gain
Observations: The sun was shining and I was determined to redeem myself for my weekend sloth. I drove all the way to Chilliwack to do a legit trail, hoping for some good late season compact snow. What I encountered instead were two things: 1. a highly entertaining (yet also sad) sign at the trailhead for someone’s missing llama. That’s just not something you see every day. 2. the trail was a sheet of ice. Even with my microspikes, I couldn’t descend without skidding uncontrollably. When I dropped my favourite water bottle off the side of the mountain, I called it a day despite being far from the top. Hike fail.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: Lately, I’ve really enjoyed adding a cardio workout after my training sessions but this week I had to get to a meeting right away. Instead, I parked on the other side of the bridge from downtown and added a good 8 km of walking to my day. The highlight of my training session was getting back to full weight on the prowler (110 lb) and up to 75 lb for deadlifts. It’s not heavy, but there’s been very few times in the last year that I haven’t lost my form/twinged my SI with those weights.

Wednesday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 20 min. run + 45 min. strength
Observations: Where has my motivation gone?!?! I wanted nothing to do with a workout. It was gross and rainy and I convinced myself to go to the gym so I wouldn’t have to run outside. I almost fooled myself into thinking I was going to have this great treadmill run, but it sooooo wasn’t happening. After a quick 20 minute jog, I moved on to strength training. Ugh.

Thursday
Activity: run + strength
Relevant Stats: 6.5 km run + 20 min. strength
Observations: I thought I was having this great run today. After the first 10 minutes or so, it stopped feeling hellish and I felt I was on a good roll. I took a new route, though, and had no concept of distance. It felt like I’d gone a good long way, but imagine my surprise when I got home and saw it was only 6.5 km. I had to add in some strength training to feel okay about my workout, whose benefit I more than outweighed when I ate a mid-afternoon “snack” in the form of my guilty pleasure cereal, cinnamon toast crunch.

Friday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. stairs + 50 min. strength
Observations: I felt stronger and less exhausted today, but I strongly suspect it’s mostly because I told myself I could focus on strength with my workout today, and that always feels like the easier route these days. I know I need to push more with my cardio and yet I can’t seem to find the motivation to do that at the gym. With my running still limited to 2-3 times per week, it doesn’t leave me with enough appealing options. Is it really so bad to have muscles of steel but no endurance?!?

Franky, I’m just glad this workout week is over so I can (hopefully) hit my own, personal reset button before next week. I think this one little image will give you a sense of how I’m feeling:

This bear is substantially cuter than I am.
Leave a Reply

