TWIR #52: One Year Anniversary Edition!!!

Technically speaking (for those who are sticklers for rules), this is actually TWIR #53 but since I didn’t post last Friday, I am stealing this opportunity to celebrate the one year anniversary of TWIRs…one week late. Better late than never is an expression for a reason.  So this week you get a double bonus TWIR, part week-in-review but also part year-in-review because my, oh my, what a year it has been.  I went from full-on ultra training to full-on injury recovery with a whole lot of ups and down along the way. Let’s get this party started.

First up, the brief and condensed TWIR:

Saturday
Activity: golf course stalking
Relevant Stats: 20 km walked
Observations in five words or less: Go Adam Hadwin!

Sunday
Activity: sitting on airplanes
Relevant Stats: longest day ever
Observations in five words or less: Air Canada sucks

Monday
Activity: Run!!! + unweighted strength
Relevant Stats: 7 km run + 20 min. strength
Observations in five words or less: running is hard

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session + short cardio burst
Relevant Stats: 60 min. training session + 20 min. spin
Observations in five words or less: my trainer is evil

Wednesday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 20 min. stairs + 45 min. strength
Observations in five words or less: I still hate my gym

Thursday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 1/2 block run
Observations in five words or less: best laid plans…

Friday
Activity: cardio warmup + strength
Relevant Stats: 30 min. cardio (stairs + hills) and 60 min. strength
Observations in five words or less: penance for yesterday

And now onto your bonus part two TWIR extravaganza, the year in review (YIR). This blog was meant to be all about ultra training, which clearly went off the rails last April.  Now, I’m focused on sustained injury recovery and building back my old base of fitness.  In other words, not only has this year been completely unexpected, but it’s also been a doozy. Along the way, I’ve had some big goals, major wins, just a few (she says sarcastically) obstacles and a whole lot of learning. I think this pretty much sums it up:

Happy Friday y’all. Here’s hoping that 2017 continues to bring joint stability my way. Thanks for following me so far on this running-turned-injury-recovery journey.

Leave a Reply

