Throwback Thursday: That Time I Took a Million Awkward Photos of Golfers

In addition to visiting Disney parks last week, we also attended two days of the Arnold Palmer Invitational.  Before you say it, yes I know that you think watching golf is about as boring as watching paint dry. It’s nothing I haven’t heard before. If you want to know how I came about being a golf fan, you can check out my post from last week.  Now, let’s get back to the real story here.

We attended two days of the tournament and I was amazed (and relieved, too) to find watching live golf even more fun than watching on television. Why? I got to pseudo-stalk my favourite golfers. It sounds worse than it is.  I mean, you’re there to follow golfers around the course so it’s not really stalking, but I did find that I have quite the knack for taking awkward photos of golfers, ones that I imagine to be be similar to those of a stalker. Don’t believe me? I am going to prove it to you.

You’ll notice a definite style in this series of photos and I like to call that style “take photos of subjects who have no idea they are being photographed, so much so that they fail to even look in the general direction of the photographer”.  I can’t imagine it will make for a lucrative photography career, but it’s a style I can embrace as my own.

Above: Jason Day, though you can barely tell because he’s not only not looking at the camera, but barely looking up at all. Because of this, you also can’t tell that he’s quite irritated with himself for just missing a birdie putt.

Above: Ryan Moore, though once again you can barely tell because his face is mostly shielded by his hat. He also just missed a birdie putt.

Above: Hideki Matsuyama looks like a sourpuss in this photo but it’s not indicative of his play. He looks that way even when he’s winning, which is precisely why he’s not one of my favourites.

Above: Here I progress to slightly more creepy photography, capturing Rickie Fowler from behind. What I wish you could see is that he was wearing fluorescent green pants with this bright yellow shirt. Only he can pull this off.

Above: Adam Hadwin (a fellow Canadian!) pays zero attention to my camera even though I desperately want to celebrate his miraculous par save on this hole. Also, he is sponsored by Shaw and I used to work there so I somehow feel we should be friends in real life.

Above: My crowning achievement of the tournament: a close-up of my golf crush Rory McIlroy. It almost looks like he is looking at the camera, until you actually look at his eyes and once again, his attention is elsewhere. Sigh. Though I got an excellent picture, I got no high five from Rory. Only the little kids got those. Damn children for being so adorable.

Above: And finally my top creepy achievement, an intentional picture of Jason Day’s butt. Why? I have no idea except why the hell not???

So there you have it. If you’re looking to hire a sports photographer to take sub par and slightly awkward photos of golfers, I am clearly your gal. I’ll be waiting by the phone for your calls.

Leave a Reply

