TWIR #51: Almost a full year edition!

Oh my god, how has it been almost a year since I started this little training-journey-turned-injury-recovery-journey? Next week, when this little blog turns a year old, I will be stalking Rory McIlroy at the Arnold Palmer invitational, but rest assured that TWIR #53 the following week will include a very special, one-year anniversary theme…and by ‘very special’ I mean I’ll at least acknowledge it.

As for this week, I had a good week in my the world of my body. I have found the lack of career stress to be quite healing for my back. I’ve relaxed and feel calmer and generally less tense, and I believe (though western medicine would say this is hippie crap) that it has made an actual difference to my SI and sciatic issues. Let’s leave medical arguments aside though, shall we, and take a look at this week’s workouts.

Saturday
Activity: failed snow hike
Relevant Stats: 4ish km
Observations: As I wrote about earlier this week, we attempted a snow hike this weekend only to find that snowshoes were, in fact, required. It was a slog through fresh, deep snow and it was not fun. However, being in and amongst nature was just what the doctor ordered. The doctor also ordered a pecan mudslide from Dairy Queen. And it was divine.

Sunday
Activity: cardio + strength
Relevant Stats: 35 min. stairs + 45 min. strength
Observations: I did not want to go the gym. I wanted to run outside, in the snow.  But then the snow quickly turned to an inch of slush and water, and that sounded even more unappealing than the gym.  I sucked it up and managed to have a really good workout. I told myself I could quit the stairs after 20 minutes and made it to 35 instead (woo hoo!). My strength workout was solid despite last week’s fears that I’d tweaked something.

Monday
Activity: Run!!!!
Relevant Stats: 7.5ish km
Observations: My running is starting to feel good. Okay, good is an overstatement.  Perhaps what I mean to say is that running is starting to feel more natural again, and I’m starting to feel less panicked that I’m going to injure myself. This run was a slow go with lots of hills but I felt good about my leg strength the whole time. Now I just need to build up that cardio endurance…

Tuesday
Activity: personal training + spin
Relevant Stats: 60 min. personal training + 30 min. spin
Observations: Nothing is quite so wonderful as getting up at 5:45 am when you don’t actually have to go to work that day.  Sigh.  Despite the fact that I was a zombie from 10am onward, my morning workout was fantastic. My trainer pushed things with significantly heavier weights and I experienced no ill effects other than jello legs by the end of the workout. I then opted to take advantage of free parking by hitting up my dear, old friend the spin bike for a half hour of hills and even some sprints.  I then proceeded to sit on my ass the rest of the day wishing for nothing other than a nap.

Wednesday
Activity: cardio warm up + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. stairs + 45 min. strength
Observations: I hit a definite wall in this workout. The cardio warm up was meant to be longer but I didn’t have it in me.  The strength session was meant to be tougher but my upper body wouldn’t take any more. My shoulders and arms are just done like dinner these days. For all the extra strength I’ve built in my upper body, I continue to be disappointed by the fact that my arms do not look even a tiny bit more toned.  It makes no sense.

Thursday
Activity: Run!!!!
Relevant Stats: 8 km
Observations: For a change of scenery, and to stave off the nagging feeling that if I didn’t I would bail on my workout entirely, I drove to a nearby trail system for the week’s second run. It paid off. I had a great run, and by great I mean I felt better than if I had laid on the couch all day. No one needs to know about that half hour nap once I got home…

Friday
Activity: cardio + strength
Relevant Stats: 30 min. spin + 35 min. strength
Observations: Ugh. My body was not in the mood for a workout today. My legs felt tired on the bike and my arms and shoulders continue to be exhausted despite having yesterday off. Today’s workout definitely falls in the better than nothing category. In more positive news, I’m about to pick up one of my favourite former Banffites for a quick weekend visit. Bring on the wine!

All in all, it was a good week. I’m feeling good as I move into next week even though I won’t fit in as many real workouts as I’d like.  Unrelated to anything about my workouts, this week gets a:

For those not in the know, this is Rory McIlroy and I will be cheering him on this weekend…and hoping he doesn’t choke like he did last week (sorrynotsorry Rory…whoa, that rhymes!)
Leave a Reply

