RWIR #50: Oooh, so close! Edition

Wah, waaaaaah. In the grand tradition of me getting ahead of myself, I broke my cardinal rule of no more than two runs per week when I attempted a 15 minute running warm up yesterday. I don’t know if it was the run that caused the issue, but it seems rather coincidental that, in the midst of a standard set of split lunges that I do all the time, I suddenly felt a slight tweak in my glutes/SI. Alas, I was so close to thinking that I was fully on the mend! Famous last words! (Though, to be fair, the discomfort and pain is incredibly minor and I’m just being extra precautionary in backing off for now).

Saturday
Activity: Run!!!!!
Relevant Stats: 9 km (!!!!!!)
Observations: This run was fantastic. Fantastic. I even made it up the (really not giant but feels like a giant) giant hill without stopping, and the hill was at the end of the run! I was slow, yes, but intentionally slow. I’m not aiming for speed these days as much as to build endurance. This was honestly the first run in months where I felt a bit like my old self (only slower). As a reward, we went to see Rural Alberta Advantage that night. Okay, that wasn’t really a reward as I bought the tickets months ago, but it was still a damn good way to cap off the day.

Sunday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: new donut shop discovered, check!
Observations: Sundays are one of my favourite days because I am one of those insane people who absolutely loves running errands. I like grocery shopping and getting organized for the week ahead. I know, I know, there is something seriously wrong with me. At any rate, we spent the morning in my happy place (i.e. running errands) before going for a lovely walk in the sunshine, during which we stumbled into a donut shop and promptly devoured a sour cream glazed donut. Normally, I am not one for yeasted donuts (cake donuts for the win!) but this one was quite tasty, or at least was the perfect compliment to a long walk in the sunshine.

Monday
Activity: SNOW RUN!!!!!!
Relevant Stats: 8 km
Observations: When I noticed it was snowing first thing in the morning, I got really excited. I thought maybe, just maybe I would be able to get one more snow run before Spring arrives. And I got more than I could’ve hoped for! The snow started off lightly but by mid-morning it was coming down fast and furious. Have I mentioned I love snow runs? Because, man, do I LOVE snow runs. I didn’t see a single other runner out there and it was glorious. I smiled like an idiot almost the entire time. I’m sure cars driving past me thought I looked mad but they couldn’t squelch my enthusiasm. As a bonus, the fact that I ran 8 km made this my highest running mileage in months. This is sort of sad as 17 km is nothing to write home about, but the fact that I ran 17 km and still felt good IS something to write home about. Snow run for the win!

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: My trainer is on a mission to fatigue my arms and shoulders beyond the levels of exhaustion I thought possible, and she is winning. We incorporated some more complex movements this week so she claimed to “take it easy” on me in other areas. I beg to differ. Sure, she loaded the prowler with a measly 50 lb (when I usually do about 110), but that was after countless shoulder and arm-based exercises that left me feeling like my upper body had been in one hell of a fight.

Wednesday
Activity: cardio warm-up + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. stairs + 45 min. strength
Observations: That 15 minutes on the stair machine felt like the longest 15 minutes of my life. I know I’ve griped about this before, but I am so sick of cardio equipment. Ugh. At any rate, the strength component of my workout was solid and I am getting much better at pushing boundaries on my own. Though I don’t lift as heavy as when I’m with my trainer, I am really starting to get a feel for my form and my glutes constantly being sore is a sign that my form is on point!

Thursday
Activity: cardio warm-up + strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. run + 45 min. strength
Observations: Damn you, running. Okay, that’s not fair. I shouldn’t be blaming the running. I should be blaming the fact that I ran knowing full well that it probably wasn’t a good idea. Like I said in my post intro, I am not sure that running was the issue. The run actually felt good. However, I have been doing split squats pain-free for ages and ages, so I find it odd that they would suddenly cause a twinge. I ended up adjusting my strength workout to focus more on my upper body and incorporated more stretching at the end to try to minimize any damage I might have done. Ugh.

Friday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: macarons consumed, two
Observations: After yesterday’s tweak, I decided to be cautious today and take the day off. Also, because I’ve been working from home lately but had to go into the office today, I have been sleeping in until 7am most days. The thought of getting up at 5:45 just to fit in a workout sounded impossible. I opted for extra sleep and a rest day. The good news is I have no pain with basic movements, but I’m keeping an eye on things because sudden bends and twists don’t feel quite right. I also discovered a place near my old office that makes macarons. I’m partially sad because I only just went there today, but also happy because it would not have been good if I had discovered it sooner.

Well, if nothing else this week has taught me to stick to my own damn rules. I always start to push things when I feel good and like I’m finally on the mend, and then little setbacks occur. I think this setback will be relatively minor in the grand scheme of things, but I’m still left feeling like I was so close to making a steady and thoughtful progression and then I went and messed it all up with a stupid treadmill warm-up. This weeks gets a big old:

so-close

Leave a Reply

