RWIR #45: Becoming an Early Bird

I don't look nearly this perky in the morning.
I don’t look nearly this perky in the morning.

I will probably write soon about my transition from mid-morning or early-afternoon exerciser, to early-morning exerciser. It’s been smoother than expected, which is surprising to me on many levels.  For now, let’s take a look at the week in workouts:

Saturday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: errands and chores count as activity, right?
Observations: We are still in the midst of getting the home fully settled, so Saturday involved a lot of errands: there was returning light bulbs that were operating-room bright, there was buying new lightbulbs, there was (finally) getting our hands on a Soda Stream, there was seeking artwork for barren walls, there was grocery shopping, and there was making two batches of soup and scones for a friend that just had a baby.  But there was also a beer pit stop that, naturally, also involved a pulled pork waffle. And there was also the discovery of a candy store closing down which meant clearance priced taffy!

Sunday
Activity: Run!
Relevant Stats: 7.5 ish km, pace: slow
Observations: I ran! And my lungs burned again and my legs felt like they haven’t run in years.  But I ran.  I have lost a lot of fitness over the last nine months, and strength. I thought for a while that my strength was still the same because I do a lot more strength training, but the reality is that running and hiking added a lot of strength and, without those activities, a lot of it is gone. Also, my car randomly decided to stop working, which surfaced the fact that I have some serious emotional attachments to the little guy.

Monday
Activity: planned rest day (new!)
Relevant Stats: work + commuting = blah
Observations: The only positive thing to come out of Monday was that my car was repaired for the (relatively) bargain price of $762.  There was no workout because I’m trying this new thing where I give my body more time to bounce back after running.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: My trainer is starting to get excited, which makes me fearful. Every time I start to show signs of improvement, I see her eyes twinkle in an evil kind of way that signals she’s going to start seriously pushing my comfort zones. I know it’s good, but do I ever dread it.  This week we incorporated more lateral movements and the muscles around my hips are definitely paying attention.

Wednesday
Activity: spin + stretching
Relevant Stats: 45 min. spin
Observations: Sprints, how I loathe sprints. After realizing my drop in fitness, I realized that maybe I need to lay off the hill climbs and force myself into some serious sprint action. Sprints at 6:45 in the morning do NOT feel good, at least to this very newly coined early bird. I was a sweaty beast after 45 minutes and decided to call it a day.

Thursday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 10 min. cardio warm-up + 50 min. strength training
Observations: I am making a concerted effort to add more strength training into my weekly schedule since it seems to be helping my injury.  It just so happens to be highly convenient that strength training is the least offensive of early morning workouts. I actually look forward to it, even at 6:30 am whereas the thought of cardio at 6:30 am makes me want to curl in a fetal ball and gently weep.

Friday
Activity: Run!
Relevant Stats: 7ish km
Observations: This was a hard run, like out of the entire time I ran maybe two minutes of it felt effortless. The rest of the time my lungs burned and my legs felt like they had zero spring in their step.  Adding hills into the mix didn’t help (though they weren’t actually big hills). I contemplated trying to run farther but some days you just have to accept as bad running days. I threw in the towel and drowned my sorrows in smoked tofu.  You’ll all be judging me about that one, but I am currently obsessed with smoked tofu and you cannot steal that joy from me with your mocking.

All in all, it was a decent week for workouts and injury stability.  I have given up on getting hopeful that it means I’m on a path to more sustained healing. I’m more inclined now to just accept the good weeks when they come and take whatever may come next.

Happy weekend y’all. Time for me to bake a cheesecake! If you’re envious, sadly it is not just for me but for a dinner we are hosting tomorrow. I will get a tiny sliver but it will still be magical.

 

Leave a Reply

