Training Tuesdays: Adopting New Patterns

I started a new job yesterday. No, it’s not exciting. I’m certainly not excited, at least, but that’s a post for another day.

If you’ve started a new job any time in your recent history, as with any big change to your normal routine, you know it necessitates adopting some new patterns. In my last role, I got into a really good habit of workday workouts, most often at 10 or 10:30 a.m. I found it was the perfect time for my fussy circadian rhythm.  I adjusted my general working hours to account for a longer mid-morning workout. In other words, I had a pretty sweet set up for myself.

Now I’m in a new gig which, for the short term at least, means less flexibility in my schedule. On top of that, I’m commuting now, which takes away 2-3 hours of my free time each day. Translation: I need to develop some new workout patterns. It can be tough to cope and stay focused on fitting in quality workouts, but here’s some things I’m committing to in order to stay on track:

1. Do what I can: I may not get in as long or as hard a workout, but something is always better than nothing.

2. Make use of what I’ve got: there’s a tiny gym with limited equipment at my new company. It’s not ideal, by any stretch, but in a pinch it will make sure I get a workout in without worrying about whether I’m physically able to run or whether I have time to commute to/from my real gym (which, sadly, was walkable from my old office).

3. Adjust my timing: I had a training session today at 6:45 am. That is NOT my prime workout time, but it was the only way to make sure it happened. Similarly, I know I will have to make a few beginning-of-day or end-of-day training sessions happen over the next couple of weeks.

4. Be patient: I like to do what I want to do when I want to do it, so it’s a tough pill for me to swallow when I have to make concessions.  However, the reality is that within a few weeks in this gig, I will be in control of my own schedule and can get back to my ideal times. It’s my own carrot at the end of the stick.

Here’s hoping I can establish a new normal soon. Workouts truly are my main source of sanity.

Leave a Reply

