RWIR #43: Moving Week!

Well, it’s been non-stop packing, unpacking, decluttering, loading and unloading this week.  Thankfully, my SI has cooperated which I like to think is in part due to my taking two extra trips for every load of crap I’ve hauled around. It was a pain the ass, but it seems to have kept my injury from a probable relapse. I also managed to fit in some recovery workouts so let’s check those out:

Saturday
Activity: spin + strength
Relevant Stats: total workout time, one hour
Observations: I cannot for the life of me remember how long I worked out. I know I rode the spin bike. I know I did some strength training in efforts to correct my broken body. Aside from that, I cannot remember anything else. What I do remember is that every single other second of Saturday involved cleaning, packing, hauling crap around and/or other forms of household work that left us utterly exhausted. I think we went to bed at 10pm. On a Saturday. When we are still in our 30s.

Sunday
Activity: walking + strength
Relevant Stats: 25 minutes walking + 25 or 30 minutes strength
Observations: I spent the better part of Sunday assembling mother f’ing bookshelves and I don’t want to talk about it. I was going to write off the gym completely but knew that I needed to get back on track after so much injury-related time off around the holidays.  Rage fuelled my 25 minutes of max incline speed walking (normally my most hated of all indoor workouts because walking on a treadmill is death) and even managed a few weighted, single-leg exercises.

Monday
Activity: stairs + rehab
Relevant Stats: 45 min. stairs + 10 min. rehab exercises
Observations: After a few days of relying on strength training for workouts, I knew I needed to get back on the cardio train. I’ve got to keep some semblance of my endurance for if/when I eventually can run again.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: For the first time in two weeks of training sessions, I broke a sweat! My mobility has improved considerably so we were able to do some legitimate exercises, including using my friend, the Prowler. It’s been a while since I used him, but he proved ultra practical today as I realized it’s the same technique I need to employ in order to slide stacks of heavy-ass book boxes across my floor. Win.

Wednesday
Activity: planned “rest” day
Relevant Stats: moving day!!!!!!!
Observations: I say “rest” day because, let’s be honest, everyone knows moving is hard work. We were on our feet all day, moving boxes, unpacking, going up and down (and up and down and up and down) stairs, breaking down boxes and trying to cram all of the used packing paper into one tiny 2 cubic foot box (newsflash: it didn’t fit). It was exhausting.  Exhausting.

Thursday
Activity: snow hike!!!!!
Relevant Stats: 5.5ish km
Observations: I hadn’t been out in nature in a MONTH. I forgot how much blue sky and sparkling snow can do for the soul. After days of doing nothing but moving-related activities, I needed some time to just be outside and do something that I love. This fit the bill.

Friday
Activity: stairs + strength
Relevant Stats: 20 min. stairs + 55 min. strength
Observations: After yesterday’s hike and a week of increased physical activity thanks to this never-ending move and the 6:40am arrival of washer/dryer installers (sidenote: never in my life have I seen delivery/installation services start that early…is this a thing now?), my body was tired today. I struggled through the cardio portion of my workout so opted for strength training instead.

I am simultaneously looking forward to and dreading the weekend. I’m looking forward to wrapping up the last of the major moving-related activities but I am dreading the weekend because as of Monday I am going back to work. I will likely post about that transition another time, but for now let’s just say I am not excited in the least.

Happy Friday. Now it’s time for some wine!

moving-sucks

Leave a Reply

