Monday Musings: The Year of Healing

I have never been one for resolutions. I’m not even particularly great at general goal-setting. For a person who’s got a high need for control, I’m surprisingly bad at planning for things. But this year, I do have one goal and one goal alone: get my body working properly again.

Last year was not a great year for my health and fitness. I spent eight months of the year with a significant injury and suffered the emotional drain of watching my high level of fitness and endurance slowly slip away. It was, and continues to be, a major hit to my identity. On the days where I can barely manage an hour on a spin bike, it’s hard not to compare to the days where I’d be out on trails for 8 hours at a time, gaining thousands of metres of elevation like it was nothing. Comparison truly is the thief of joy.

In my efforts to get back to my old self, I often pushed too hard and too fast. I wanted to get back to running quickly. I wanted to maintain my endurance. I wanted to prove I could kick this injury my own way. In short, I rushed the process.

This year, however, my only goal is to actually get my injury better. I want sustained improvements.  I want long-term strength and increased mobility. If it means back off running for a longer period, I’m going to have to do it. If it means listening to my body and taking multiple days off in a week, I’m going to have do it. It means I’m going to have stop listening to the voice in my head that constantly tries to remind me of what I should be capable of doing by now.

If I can successfully do all of that, maybe, just maybe, I can have a normal hiking season.  Should be easy, right (she says with sarcasm)? Here’s to healing in 2017.

Leave a Reply

