RWIR #42: Back to Basics…Yet Again

Hello, 2017. I’m so glad we’ve been able to kick this year off with an injury (my sarcasm is also still intact). This will be a short and sweet RWIR as most of my week was spent in nursing my injury or packing. On the bright side, the year can only go up from here…or so I hope!

Saturday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: first wine in two weeks!!!!
Observations: Well, if there’s one thing a cold is good for, it’s keeping me away from wine. But nothing was going to keep me from NYE wine. Nothing.  I am mildly embarrassed to admit, though, that I barely made it to midnight.

Sunday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: one new holiday coined (Chris-years, i.e. Christmas-at-new-years)
Observations: I was thankful for my SI pain so that I could relax all day. We were visiting my parents for New Years, but also celebrating a belated Christmas, which meant a chance to put the tree on and open up even more presents. I am a firm believer that you are NEVER too old to get stockings from your parents.  Also, there were home-made yorkshire puddings, which pretty much means it was an outstanding day.

Monday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: one walk in -36 celsius, check!
Observations: When I am injured, I am like a dog. I need to be walked. This becomes highly inconvenient when visiting Alberta during the winter.  Case in point, it was -36 with windchill and my poor boyfriend had to join me for an extremely…refreshing walk to keep my SI from stiffening up.  Thank goodness we fed him waffles that morning! I think it made the walk seem like a good idea.

Tuesday
Activity: spin + rehab
Relevant Stats: 45 minutes spin + 10 minutes rehab
Observations:  I awoke with significantly less SI pain so I was itching to get to the gym. Sadly, I forgot that early January means the gym is full of new year’s resolutioners trying to absolve themselves of a year’s worth of health sins. Ugh. I loathe a busy gym. Thankfully with headphones on and the sound of my laboured breathing, I could block out the insanity around me.

Wednesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 minutes
Observations: As you saw earlier this week, I’m moving next week, which means a ton of packing. I asked my trainer to be ultra conservative so that I wouldn’t risk irritating my injury before having to pack boxes and haul shit around for days on end. The result: a pathetic workout during which I didn’t even break a sweat. I suppose I shouldn’t complain, though, because it’s exactly what I asked for. Also, it meant that I was able to spend the rest of the day and evening feverishly packing…and wading through infinite piles of crap.

Thursday
Activity: spin + rehab
Relevant Stats: 45 min. spin + 15 min. rehab
Observations: I was excited to go the gym if only to escape an apartment that feels like a box maze so much so that I didn’t want to leave the gym. Leaving meant more packing and more time encircled by piles of boxes. Ugh. Moving. Blech.

Friday
Activity: Stairs + strength
Relevant Stats: 30 minutes stairs + 40 minutes strength
Observations: Man, I am tired of working out indoors. That’s all I’m going to say about that. I was able to do some squats and side lunges today, with weights no less! I rounded out my day with, you guessed it, more packing, only this time packing up Christmas decorations, which is the saddest form of packing. The holidays, it seems, are now officially over. Sigh.

This week has been pretty one-dimensional in my world. Moving is one of those all encompassing activities, occupying virtually all of my mental and emotional capacity. For that reason, this week gets a:

moving

Happy Friday all!

Leave a Reply

