TWIR #41: Last of 2016

Well, 2016 has almost come to an end. It’s been…different than I expected. Let’s leave it at that for now, and hope that 2017 brings about real healing.

Saturday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 1 large family holiday event
Observations: Well, I visited emergency on Friday night at the lovely hour of midnight thanks to a terrifying rattling/wheezing/crackling noise that started to happen every time I exhaled.  After waiting a couple hours, a doctor spent roughly two minutes with me, basically telling me my lungs sounded clear and to do all the normal things I already know to do when sick: rest, drink fluids, no alcohol, etc. Helpful.  Thanks to a late bedtime, Christmas Eve consisted of a lot of laying around exhausted before heading to my boyfriend’s parents’ place for festivities. Thankfully, my coughing stayed relatively at bay, so I wasn’t that person, you know the one who comes to a large family gathering hacking up a lung and thereby infecting everyone else.

Sunday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 1 large family event, 2 waffle makers
Observations: I had originally planned to celebrate Christmas with a run in between family events. You know what they say about best laid plans. Instead, I had a sneezing/coughing attack and completely threw my SI out of whack. Like badly. By mid-afternoon walking was uncomfortable and sitting was even worse.  It was like a flashback to four months ago and I was livid. On the plus side, Santa brought us two waffle makers, which either means we can have some serious waffle parties or that we need to choose between the fancy new vertical maker or the ability to make four waffles at once. Tough decisions in this household.

Monday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 2 magical snow walks
Observations: My SI continued to be quite stiff and painful. The blow was softened considerably by opening Christmas presents (my boyfriend and I did our own gift exchange on Boxing Day…anything to prolong the Christmas experience!).  We continued our celebration with not one but two incredibly slow and careful walks in beautiful, heavy, falling snow. I was in heaven. There are few things I love more than snow walks.

Tuesday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 2 less magical slush walks
Observations: Between the lingering cold and lingering SI pain, about all I could manage was another day of walking.  This time, the walks were less magical as rain had taken the place of snow and turned everything into an ugly, dirty, slushy mess.  Still, I was pleased to feel less pain and to be able to walk at a fairly normal pace (when I wasn’t avoiding ice).

Wednesday
Activity: stairs + treadmill + strength
Relevant Stats: a mixed bag adding up to an hour
Observations: After what seems like an eternity without a workout, I was determined to do something. Something ended up being 20 minutes of moderate work on the stair machine, 10 minutes walking on 15 incline on the treadmill (about as long as I can walk on a treadmill because walking on a treadmill is beyond awful), and a half hour of strength focusing on my arms since my SI is still a disaster.

Thursday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 minutes, remedial
Observations: Alright! I’m back to basics yet again! There is nothing like doing single-leg “deadlifts” unweighted, sliding one leg back on a slider instead of having it in the air.  It’s the ultimate way to remind yourself you’re essentially back to square one.  Is this year over yet?

Friday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 2 dozen cookies baked, 0 cookies consumed (major victory)
Observations: Well, I thought my SI was on the mend but yesterday’s training session did a serious number on it and today it feels ten times worse.  And that meant no workout for me. It seems 2016 is going to end without one last kick at the workout can.

I am so ready to say goodbye to 2016 from a health and fitness perspective, and my greatest wish for 2017 is that I find a more sustainable way to keep my injury at bay.  This week gets a big:

end-of-2016

Happy new year y’all! Wishing you all a smooth transition to 2017.

Leave a Reply

