TWIR #40: Ho Ho Ho Edition

Tomorrow is Christmas Eve! And then it’ll be just one more sleep ’til CHRISTMAS!!!!! If you can’t tell, I am a sucker for the holidays and can’t wait to tear into my stocking and feast on turkey. So let’s get this TWIR out of the way so we can get on with the holidays! I can’t say it was the best week. I was sick, and my SI was being a grumpy gus.

Saturday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: shortbread christmas trees baked: 12, chocolate snowmen sandwiches stuffed with peppermint buttercream baked: 7, Christmas gift shopping: almost complete
Observations: This was a highly productive rest day on my part. It started awkwardly when my IKEA delivery showed up early and without a phone call and I had to run to the door in pink bear pajamas, no bra, hair in disarray and flour caked to my hands. Sigh. Aside from that unfortunate experience, I got our small-batch Christmas baking done and almost completely finished my Christmas shopping. The major feat with shopping was that I only lost my patience once the entire time I was out. That is significant growth on my part.

Sunday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 65 min. snow walk = magical
Observations: I planned to go for a run, I really did. But then after breakfast we decided to head out to do some of our joint Christmas shopping together, including a very costly trip to the liquor store for gift wine. Very costly. At any rate, by the time we got home I was already starting to feel sluggish. We went for a spectacular walk in heavy falling snow, and I called it a day.  Sure enough, by that evening I could feel my sinuses getting congested. The cold was descending.

Monday
Activity: second consecutive unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: ultra high laziness
Observations: Sure enough, I woke with a cold and instantly had zero intentions to work out. I used to push this all the time and usually ended up with a lingering, horrendously disgusting, deep chest cough. And laryngitis. I’m learning. About all I accomplished was reading 80 pages in my new book and watching a shit ton of Food Network.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: Sadly, I can’t cancel training sessions at the last minute or I’d be out $90. So I forced myself to go to my training session where I told my trainer I was sick, thinking that she’d make it easy on me. To her credit, I think she tried. What I learned during this workout is that taking daytime cold meds makes my heart race in weird ways when working out. Also, holding a bar above my head to do walking lunges was a dizziness disaster waiting to happen. I finished my sorry training session and promptly went home to veg for the rest of the day.

Wednesday
Activity: spin + rehab exercises
Relevant Stats: 30 min. spin + 10 min. rehab exercises
Observations: I needed to do something after two days of sitting around. I did a half-ass spin workout with zero sprints and lower tension than I’m accustomed to. Still, it felt good to sweat and breathe deeply and, for a brief moment, my nasal passages were perfectly clear.  Sadly, my SI and even my sciatic seemed to be displeased with me by day’s end.  I actually blame all the sitting over the last few days for this setback. Slouching on couches is a sciatic’s worst nightmare.

Thursday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: this cold is making me angry
Observations: Turns out I may have bitten off more than I could chew on Wednesday. I was on my feet most of the day, running errands and getting holiday stuff taken care of.  I woke up feeling worse Thursday and, though I was starting to feel stir crazy from sitting around so much this week, I couldn’t fathom a workout. Energy levels were way too low. Instead, I felt sorry for myself and continued on my path to using the most amount of tissues ever used by a human in a four-day time frame.

Friday
Activity: strength training
Relevant Stats: 55 min.
Observations: Well, I had to brave the mall today on what is apparently the busiest shopping day of the year. So, hopped up on cold meds, I decided to make it a double header by heading to the gym after the mall. Plus after two days of sedentary living my back and SI were killing me. I needed to move! It was a pretty light workout by all accounts, but good to move and sweat. I’m hoping the SI stabilizes so that maybe, just maybe, Christmas magic will grant me the ability to have a pain free run this weekend!

So it’s been a bad week for recovery and training, but who cares because it’s almost Christmas!!!!! And because of that, this week gets a big, old:

jolly-santa

Happy holidays y’all. Have a good one, in whatever way you choose to celebrate the season.

Leave a Reply

