TWIR #37: Snow!

The snow is here. Well, by “here” I mean it’s on the mountains, but they’re close enough a drive that I consider it here. Thanks to my not working, I was able to take advantage of a snow day this week. Hurrah! Let’s see what else I got up to.

Saturday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 6.5 or 7 km, sloooooooooooow
Observations:  Well, this run felt pretty crappy start to finish. I tried to tell myself it’s because I ran uphill for 22 blocks, and I’m sure that was a part of it, but in reality my legs just felt like absolute lead the entire time. I followed this sad display of a run with an absolutely enormous dim sum lunch that was likely twenty times the calories I burned on the run. Balance is overrated.

Sunday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: Lindt Lindor Candy Cane consumed: 3
Observations: I had the best of intentions for working out. But then we had a big breakfast so I needed to leave some time before the workout, and then we got caught up in errands, and then it was suddenly three o’clock and I had absolutely no desire to do anything other than lay on the couch. I was very successful in that endeavour.

Monday
Activity: super unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: 1.5 hour nap + 2 episodes of Family Feud
Observations:  I had really good intentions of working out, really good. I even drove all the way to Chilliwack anticipating a hike. Once I got there, though, I just knew it wasn’t in the cards. My body was craving a day on the couch napping and watching mindless television, and that is exactly what I gave myself. No regrets.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session + spin
Relevant Stats: 60 min. training + 30 minute spin
Observations: I knew I would bounce back on Tuesday if I took Monday off. My trainer was brutal once again, although at least she didn’t make me do push ups. In their place, she had me spend the better part of an hour engaging my poor glutes which, two days later, had yet to recover. Still, I made myself fit in some post-training cardio to round out a solid workout day.

Wednesday
Activity: snow hike!!!!!!!!!
Relevant Stats: 6.5 km
Observations: Oh my god, SNOW! I tackled the Grouse snowshoe grind, which is in no way as challenging as the actual Grouse grind but has the aesthetic bonus of so much snow. I was in heaven taking pictures of candy cane trees and snow drifts so often that this short hike took me 1.5 hours. Still, my poor hamstrings and quads were screaming after about a month off from hiking.

Thursday
Activity: strength training + spin
Relevant Stats: 60 min. total (45 strength + 15 spin)
Observations: I had a busy day of very important meetings…well, okay, one important meeting, a coffee date with two former colleagues and a much-needed haircut. At any rate, all of that added up to a late afternoon workout. Trust me when I say working out in the afternoon is not my happy time. I managed a full hour, but I can’t say it was my most quality workout.

Friday
Activity: Run!!!!
Relevant Stats: 8.3 km (!!)
Observations: Well, not only is this (sadly) my longest run in weeks and weeks but it was also the first run in a couple weeks where my legs didn’t feel dead the entire time. Maybe my run was fuelled by anger at having driven all the way to Grouse without checking mountain conditions only to find the good snowshoe trails were on standby and it was raining up on the hill. Snow hike fail. Run win. It all nets out.

All in all, it’s been a reasonable week. I anticipated that I would fit in longer workouts and that I’d be more motivated this week, and neither of those things panned out. But the snow, the snow more than made up for that, so this week gets a:

snowflake

Leave a Reply

