Monday Musings: Rain, Rain & More Rain

I know, I know, it’s so perfectly banal to speak of the weather, and I choose to live in Vancouver, where one can expect season upon season of above-average rainfall.  Still, it’s putting a serious damper (pun fully intended) on my desire to get outside. Think I’m exaggerating? This year, it rained 28 out of 31 days in October. I don’t know about you, but that seems fairly excessive. Come on Mother Nature, cut us a break!

If any of you happen to live in a generally grey and gloomy locale, you may echo my sentiments here: the grey and the rain really start to get you down after a while.  You might find that your motivation starts to dip. You might even start to play the “I’ll-just-wait-until-the-weather-gets-a-bit-better-before-I-go-for-a-run” game…except it never stops raining and, as a result, you never seem to go for that run.  I have no answers to this vicious circle of laziness.  None. I just know I struggle with workout motivation when we have particularly monsoon-like years here in Vancouver.

Yup.
Yup.

Instead of solutions for coping with dreary weather, I present you with my unfiltered thoughts on working out in the rain after several weeks of seemingly endless showers:

  1. I get that rain is good for the planet, but seriously can we just get a few consecutive days of blue sky?!?
  2. For the love of God, why has no one invented waterproof workout gear that BREATHES?!?!
  3. Would it be so bad to stop working out until the sun comes back? I mean, what’s a little winter weight?

Ah, that feels a little better. Sometimes you just need to vent. And, who knows, maybe the weather gods will hear my cries for sunshine. Also, if anyone lives in a sunnier and warmer destination and is open to a perfectly delightful (and temporary) houseguest, just say the word. I will bring lots of wine.

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Rain, Rain & More Rain”

  1. I live in Ireland … so in a way I can relate, but this year we were luckier. What I don’t like about rain is having to wear glasses … then add fog and a headlamp with breathing. Warm rain is bearable … but add a gale force wind and it’s like in a survival movie.

    Like

  2. Glasses? Wind and rain? Fog? Headlamps? You are hard core dedicated to running!!!! I thought I wanted to go to Ireland…but maybe not! Kidding, I still want to go. I just might not pack my running shoes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

