Mid-Week Challenge: Packing Light

It’s almost time. It’s almost time for me to hop on a plane and check out some new places, namely France & Italy. My main goal is to eat gelato twice a day in Italy, and to cram as much cheese and pastry as humanly possible into my face in France.

The only issue? How does one pack for two weeks in Autumn for a mix of active and not-so-active experiences? I realize for most this is not terribly challenging. My confession: I am a chronic over-packer. I am the person who wants to plan for every possible occasion, who hates being cold, who equally hates being hot, and who likes to be able to wear what she ‘feels like’ on the day she feels like it. It’s sometimes a wonder that I ever get dressed in the morning.

In particular I struggle with the following:

  • Shoes: I want to take separate athletic shoes for running, hiking and walking, but I also want to have non-athletic shoes so I don’t constantly look like the frumpy person I really am. If left to my own devices, I would take five pairs of shoes. That is at least two pairs too many.
  • Jackets: I want athletic jackets, a rain jacket, my precious jean jacket, but then another jacket because, obviously, I can’t wear a jean jacket with jeans (hello, Canadian tuxedo). Why don’t I own one single jacket that meets all my needs?
  • Books: I cannot get on the e-reader train. I love my heavy, expensive, hard-to-transport, old-school paper books. Every time I travel, I also convince myself that I am going to read more than I do only to lug around books that ultimately end up unread. But my fear of having no reading material always surpasses logic.  Help me.

I realize this post has nothing to do with running or injury recovery, but it’s also my way of saying that I will be posting a bit less frequently over the next couple of weeks because I will be too busy shoving gelato in my face.  Upon my return, you’ll get the benefit of this semi-hiatus in the form of stunning (read: mediocre) pictures and tales of hiking abroad.

 

Leave a Reply

