RWIR #27: New Pains! Hooray!

Ah yes, back for another week of disappointing progress updates, or lack thereof. Let’s not dilly dally. Let’s get right to it.

Saturday
Activity: Stairs + Walk
Relevant Stats: 30 min. stairs + 8 km walk
Observations: Atypical of SI injuries, going up and down stairs was about the only thing that didn’t cause aggravation. I seized the opportunity to walk to a giant staircase near my parent’s house, where I proceeded to walk, not run, up and down them for a solid half hour. It felt pointless at times, but compared to sitting on my ass all day felt like a huge victory. Also, the stairs were close to the farmer’s market, where we scored the world’s largest zucchini.

Sunday
Activity: Grouse Grind
Relevant Stats: 3 km, 850 m, slow as molasses
Observations: In efforts to minimize trips and slips on trail, I opted for the official Grouse Grind trail. On the plus side, I successfully avoided aggravating my SI. On the downside, I hate the GG and its crowdedness and also my legs were not feeling it and it took me an eternity to reach the top. Big points to me, though, for achieving at least one legit workout this week.

Monday
Activity: Spin + Strength
Relevant Stats: RWIR Fail…I can’t even remember
Observations: I know I was on the spin bike for a while, and I know I then moved to some of my strength activities. However, I cannot for the life of me recall the duration of either. I suspect it was a short workout in efforts to be somewhat kind to my SI after a more intense Sunday workout.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 minutes, low or no weight, primarily upper body
Observations: Whomp whomp. After a somewhat positive few days, things were not feeling good on Tuesday and by “not feeling good”, I mean the spasms were back with a vengeance. As a result, my trainer took it easy on me and kept me focused on fairly limited mobility activities. I cannot even consider this a workout, though I will say that I probably burned some extra calories fuming about the state of my injury. Rage burns calories right?

Wednesday
Activity: semi-unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats:  pity level: 10+
Observations: After Tuesday’s dismal workout and subsequent laser treatment, I decided taking it easy was probably a good call, though I felt highly guilty care of all the low quality workouts these days. I also felt dreadfully sorry for myself. For once, however, I didn’t drown my sorrows in wine, so I guess that’s progress of a sort.

Thursday
Activity: Stairs + Walking
Relevant Stats: 30 minute stairs + 10 km walking
Observations:  After Tuesday’s appointment and laser treatment, I was on a mission to better convey the injury pain I’ve been experiencing. Finally, I managed to do this successfully and we determined that, yes, I have sciatica! Oh joy! A brand new pain to deal with! Likely it is caused by the SI, which still feels misaligned and inflamed.  However, it could also be a disc issue. I would gladly take back the SI pain to get rid of this sciatic pain.  I had no idea it caused deep aching like this. Another conundrum caused by this combo of pain is that SI issues typically dictate rest for recovery whereas the sciatic pain actually benefits from movement. Ugh.  I opted to combat the sciatic pain because it’s ten times worse and threw some stairs and walking into the mix.

Friday
Activity: Spin + Strength
Relevant Stats: 40 min. spin + 15 min. strength
Observations: Yesterday’s change to our treatment approach seems to have helped. The sciatic discomfort is greatly diminished and I was able to spin and do some strength exercises. The pain seems to be migrating back to around the SI joint. I never thought I would be excited by that but, I gotta tell ya, I am ecstatic! Sciatic pain is no joke.

So the week has been a bust and has had more lows than highs on the health front. My fingers are crossed for some decent weekend progress (and maybe even a workout or two). For now, this week gets a solid:

fuck
Pardon the vulgarity but sometimes you just can’t find a suitable replacement.
Leave a Reply

