TWIR #25: It’s Baaaaaack

Yup, the SI pain is back with a vengeance.  The week started off alright but took a turn for the worse.  Let’s see what dismal workouts we had in store.

Saturday
Activity: Hike + Strength
Relevant Stats: 4 km hike, supposedly 460 m elevation gain + 45 min. strength
Observations: Well, I’ve now crossed the Abby Grind off my list. I hiked with the sound of gunfire at regular intervals, which I’m used to from hiking in Chilliwack but which sounded frighteningly louder and closer on this trail. Since the hike was so short and because I’ve been slacking with my strength work outside of training sessions, I rounded out the day with a round through my strength routine. In hindsight, I am not sure that was a good call.

Sunday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 8 km, 410 m elevation gain
Observations: I woke up stiff and felt like I shouldn’t try to hike or run…but then I couldn’t think of an alternative, so I did it anyway.  It felt like my pelvic bones were grinding against each other most of the way up, but stubbornly I continued.  It was not a good call. But we had a joint birthday party and BBQ where I was able to drown my pain in wine, prime rib and tiramisu cake, so really it was an overall win.

Monday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 8 km, average pace 5:45/km
Observations: It was sunny and I hate working out in the gym, so of course I ran despite the weekend’s SI issues. As you can see, my pace was best categorized as “slow as hell”, which minimized any pain. I actually felt better after the run, leaving me once again perplexed by this injury.

Tuesday
Activity: personal training
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: My trainer hates me. I had to do both bear crawls (which I loathe) AND this thing where my feet are on sliders and I hold plank position while I drag my lower half across the room using only my arms to pull me along.  I curse her inside my head the entire time I am doing it.

Wednesday
Activity: Spin + Strength
Relevant Stats: 25 min. spin + 30 min. strength
Observations: After Tuesday’s workout, the SI was unhappy yet again, to the point that even spin wasn’t feeling great. I managed to get through 25 minutes before working through a condensed and modified (with lighter weights) version of my prescribed strength routine. I rounded out the day with a trip to physio for laser treatment in hopes it would magically cure all the damage I’d done during the week. It did not.

Thursday
Activity: unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: microbrew + pretzel with cheese sauce consumed: 1 each
Observations: If you’re not going to work out why wouldn’t you eat a giant pretzel and some sour cherry ale (and maybe a dill vodka caesar garnished with bacon…)? For once, I fought against my stubborn refusal to miss a work out and recognized that sharp pulling pains in my SI were probably a signal that a workout was not in the cards.

Friday
Activity: Grouse Grind
Relevant Stats: 2.8 km, 854 m
Observations: I wasn’t sure how this would go. I opted for the Grouse Grind over the BCMC since the last couple of times on the BCMC I’ve tripped and/or let my foot awkwardly slip off rocks and roots, aggravating my SI.  The Grind, on the other hand, is a more…refined trail (i.e. mostly a staircase). I promised myself that I would take it slow and watch my foot placement regardless. I hated it, but made it through and my SI actually feels a bit better right now. Go figure. Also, I felt like a rockstar because I completed the Grind 6 minutes faster than the BCMC. I acted as though it’s my awesome fitness when, in reality, it’s merely that the trail is shorter.

All in all, I don’t even want to talk about this week. Want to know how I’m feeling about my injury this week?

over it

Leave a Reply

