TWIR #24: Plodding Along

Another week, another TWIR, and I’m plodding along making what feels like minimal progress. This week, morning SI stiffness has returned with a vengeance, along with periodic pain with weird, sharp movements (which, for some reason, are quite common in my life). It’s annoying, but hasn’t kept me from consistent workouts so I suppose I shouldn’t complain.

Saturday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 3 km, 850 m elevation gain
Observations: In order to fit in a badly needed dim sum feast, I sacrificed a real hike for the BCMC…on a weekend. Let me just say, even if you arrive before 8 am, which I did, this proved a poor idea. I have no idea why people want to drag their asses out of bed on a weekend to hike this trail, but they do. Maybe they were all trying to fit in a quick workout before dim sum? Given how full the parking lot was at the restaurant, this could actually be the case…

Sunday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 16 km, 1000 m elevation
Observations: Sweet holy hell, this hike almost killed me.  Last year, I hiked this trail several times almost all the way to the summit and, while it had tiring sections, I was like a little mountain goat racing up the mountain. This year…man, it almost killed me. We only made it to the lower lake before I threw in the towel and called it a day, except that still meant 8 km of slow, careful descending of incredibly steep trail. Also, I was bit and then stung by a wasp, which hurts a lot more than I ever thought it would.  I was not a fan of nature on Sunday.

Monday
Activity: Spin + Strength
Relevant Stats: 15 min. spin, 45 min. strength
Observations: I wanted to do nothing on Monday. My legs were surprisingly sore after Sunday’s hike and my SI was not feeling great on the spin bike. However, fearing that my recent SI issues are actually the result of not doing enough of my strength work between training sessions, I decided I should make myself work through the program. All in all, it was a pretty sad excuse for a workout.

Tuesday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 7.5 (ish) km and pace unknown
Observations: I was supposed to have a training session but mixed up my times and missed it, which was unfortunate as I had zero motivation to work out in the first place. I was too lazy to walk to Steve Nash so I decided I’d hit my office building’s gym, except it was full of coworkers…conundrum: to work out or not to work out? I opted to try running, which I wasn’t sure I could do given my SI this week, but it turned out to be a good idea. I ran slowly, though I’m not sure how slowly because I chose not to track my run. It was liberating not to worry about time or distance, and I survived with my SI no worse for the wear.

Wednesday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 3 km, 850 m elevation
Observations: BCMC round two. Following in the footsteps of Tuesday’s run, I decided not to track nor time my hike.  Again, I found it delightful not to have my app lady’s voice chirping in my ear and making me feel like the slowest human on the planet. The result? I completed the trail exactly one minute faster than usual. Not a big improvement, but an improvement nonetheless.

Thursday
Activity: personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 min., intensity: HARD
Observations: I thought my trainer was going to take it easy on me because my SI’s been iffy this week.  Instead, I made the mistake of telling her that I ran on Tuesday, at which point her eyes lit up like it was Christmas morning and she dove into the usual routine…with increased weight.  Ugh. My legs were killing me by the end of the session. I know that’s what I’m paying her for, but man sometimes I am just not in the mood to push myself.

Friday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: sitting for hours and BBQs in the works
Observations: I didn’t actually plan for Friday to be a rest day. I was going to run, and run hills, but I realized I haven’t taken a day off since last Thursday and that, perhaps, this is one of the reasons my SI hates me. I know I’m not hard core training or anything, but I’m also not giving my SI as much downtime as it probably wants/needs.

After last week’s SI issues, this week turned out better than I anticipated, but I’m still wanting to see more progress than I am. It feels altogether too slow and steady, which frustrates me as I have a high need for EVERYTHING TO MOVE QUICKLY.  In short, I give this week a:

faster

Leave a Reply

