TWIR #23: Murphy’s Law Rears its Ugly Head

After a strong start, this week took a bit of a nosedive. I suffered a mid-week setback that caused me to get into a frustration/pity spiral, one that left me uninspired to write (to the point that I missed a planned post!).  I’ve been taking it easy the last couple of days to try to let my SI calm down a bit, and got some emergency laser treatment. Here’s hoping to a more positive mental state next week.

Saturday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats:
15 km, 900 m elevation
Observations: 
 I consider it a major victory to have hiked 15 km and 900 meters of elevation after Friday’s G n’ R concert (amazing, by the way) and getting home at 1:15 (waaaaaaay past my bedtime).  It probably helped that I managed to find not one but two shady trails to keep the scorching sun off of my poor, dehydrated self.

Sunday
Activity: 
Run
Relevant Stats: 8.4 km, average pace of 5:5o min per km
Observations: What made me think it would be a good idea to run in the middle of afternoon one of our hottest days of the summer? I still don’t know the answer to that question. When highway closures and delays thwarted my hiking plans, this seemed like the only remaining option. Despite finding some brief shade sections on trail, I still felt on the verge of puking and ended up having my poor boyfriend pick me up when I realized I would not survive the remaining 4 km home. Run fail.

Monday
Activity:
Run
Relevant Stats:
9.6 km, average pace of 5:40 min/km 
Observations:
 Seeking running redemption, I headed out again, this time earlier in the day.  Well, I can’t say that it was any cooler at 10:15 in the morning, but at least I was better hydrated.

Tuesday 
Activity:
Hike
Relevant Stats:
3 km, 850 m
Observations:
Hallelujah! I finally did the BCMC trail on a day that didn’t follow my personal training session.  My legs actually felt fantastic, although it only translated into knocking two minutes off my most recent times. This is still a full three minutes slower than my first few post-injury go-arounds, though, which I attribute to my disdain for this trail. On a positive note, I believe I am close to making the annual season pass investment worthwhile (14 hikes) so I look forward to the day I no longer feel compelled to hike this weekly.

Wednesday
Activity:
Warm up run/Personal Training Session 
Relevant Stats:
20 minute run, 60 minute training session
Observations: Murphy’s Law strikes again: just as I was talking to my trainer about how well things have been going, a standard back squat decided to throw my SI into a tizzy. It was not a good day…nor a good workout.

Thursday
Activity:
Planned rest day
Relevant Stats:
trendy diner burger/fry/corn combos consumed: one
Observations: 
My biggest accomplishment for the day was buying the world’s largest piece of chocolate cake to go, and then not consuming it (don’t worry, it will get eaten today).

Friday
Activity:
Strength + Walk
Relevant Stats:
45 min. strength + 50 min walk
Observations:
 By the time 3 pm rolled around I had little to no desire to do anything. However, I forced myself to work through my basic strength routine from my trainer and go for a super long walk. The sunshine did wonders for my spirit, as did returning with a giant bottle of white IPA to officially kick of the weekend.

All in all, not a stellar week. I’ve got plans to hike this weekend and hope that a few more days off running will cause my SI to calm the f@#k down. Until then, I give this week a:

murphy's law

Leave a Reply

