Mid-week Twist of Fate: I Found My Perfect Race

So I’m not running the ultra this September, but surely you didn’t think that meant I was out of the running for other races (see what I did there?). No sooner had I made the call to opt out of the ultra, fate stepped in and brought word of a run so perfect for me that I had no choice but to sign up immediately.

Enter the Campbell Valley Wine Run. I have heard of similar runs elsewhere, but didn’t know there was one so close to my own backyard (!!!).  Let me share with you why this race is absolutely perfect for me:

  1. It’s only 15 km.  I’m up to around 10 km, but I haven’t been running that distance consistently enough to know whether my SI will hold up.  What I do know is that adding 5 km of distance in a month is perfectly reasonable, especially given point number two…
  2. It’s not a timed race. It’s never been my goal to win races, and I despise highly competitive race environments.  I harbour no illusions that I am a fast runner.
  3. I get to sample wine along the route! Now, even I know that drinking wine and running don’t mix. But since the race is neither being timed nor competitive, it doesn’t really matter. Besides, you know what makes running 15 km tolerable? Wine. It’s that simple.
A more perfectly befitting image for me does not exist.
A more perfectly befitting image for me does not exist.

I think this is the first and only time I’ve been genuinely excited for an organized running event. Six weeks to go!

1 thought on “Mid-week Twist of Fate: I Found My Perfect Race”

Leave a Reply

