RWIR #20: Holy Crap! How has it been 20 weeks?!?

I cannot believe it’s been 20 weeks.  By now I had visions of being ultra ready….er, okay, maybe that’s an overstatement. But I at least envisioned myself as solidly on the way to rocking my first ultra. Instead, I share with you my meagre training gains on this epic road to recovery.

This week was a rough one. Do you ever have those weeks where every single workout feels like a monumental accomplishment, where your head’s not in the game, and where you want to give up constantly? That was this week. Alas, here’s what I accomplished.

Saturday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 15 km, unknown elevation gain
Observations: I drove 2.5 hours and found the only cloud and rain in the entire State. I saw little evidence of mountains, but I did hike 15 km in total. It wasn’t steep but it was one of my longest hikes since my injury.

Sunday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 9 km, 450 m elevation gain
Observations: As you saw from my post on Tuesday, this was rough, rough, rough. I almost turned around multiple times and wished desperately for a zip line to the parking lot once I reached the summit.  It was a sobering display of my current lack of fitness.

Monday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 5 km, 5:51 min/km pace
Observations: This was my most brutal run by far. It could be because I hate morning runs. It could also be that we got home late from the Tragically Hip concert the night before. It could just as easily be residual tiredness from the weekend. Whatever the cause, my legs were dead and my lungs weren’t doing much better. It was all I could do to knock out 5 kilometres. And I certainly wasn’t setting any speed records.

Tuesday
Activity: Stairs
Relevant Stats: 3o minutes
Observations: Another morning workout and another sluggish and brief workout. I planned to do some strength training after running stairs, but by the time I got back to the gym, I felt little motivation to do anything other than take a nap. Sadly, reality dictated that I needed to pull my shit together and deliver a workshop instead.

Wednesday
Activity: Planned rest day
Relevant Stats: Exhaustion level: 100%, Motivation level: 0%
Observations: I had nothing in the tank and was thankful it was my rest day. After a long day of unpleasant conversations, I briefly contemplated a late afternoon workout to snap me out of my foul mood and tiredness. Instead, I opted for a 9 ounce glass of wine. In case you’re wondering, that is always the right choice.

Thursday
Activity: Run + personal training session
Relevant Stats: 5km run + 60 min. training session
Observations: I consider it a major feat that I convinced myself to go for a pre-training session run, but after a couple of days of lazy-ish workouts it felt necessary. The best part of this workout was that, for the first and likely only time, my trainer did not include push ups in my workout (!!!!!!).  She did, however, continue on her delusional mission to get me to do a proper pistol squat. I remain convinced it will never happen.

Friday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats:  3 km, 850 m elevation
Observations: Today was an exercise in discipline, pure and simple. I didn’t want to hike the BCMC before I got there, and my legs fought me the entire way up, but I did it. And now I can feel a little bit less guilty about a weekend of wine and (quite likely) relative inactivity.

I’ve had a bit of SI stiffness towards the end of this week, so I’m keeping a close eye on it. My trainer and I also noticed that my right hip has been significantly less mobile the last couple of weeks. We can’t be sure it’s because I’ve been running, but it is one of the only things that’s changed in my routine the last couple of weeks. For now, we’re just paying attention. I’m also hoping that a weekend without intense workouts will give it some space to calm down again.

This week gets a big, fat:

tired

Here’s hoping my energy bounces back significantly next week!

Leave a Reply

