Mid-Week Conundrum: Maintaining Progress vs. Wine (whether to keep up with activities or drink all the wine)

I’ve been on a good roll lately with increasing my distance and intensity. I want to keep the momentum going, I really do. But I have a wine weekend coming up, which means I also want to drink all the wine. These goals are diametrically opposed.

wine

This is a major conundrum—do I focus on being workout ready (hydrated and well-rested) or do I realllly enjoy wine country (go big or go home with the wine consumption)?  Like anyone faced with a conundrum, I have made myself a pro-con list to aid with the decision making process.

Relative Benefits of Maintaining Progress

Screen Shot 2016-07-25 at 6.56.28 PM

You may be wondering if moderation would be a good option to allow me to both drink the wines and also maintain my progress.  To you, I say you clearly do not understand my nature. When confronted with 30+ wineries and only two days, moderation doesn’t even cross my mind.  The only thing I am thinking is “how do I get as much wine into me as safely possible”.  And, despite the logical evidence in favour of maintaining progress, my real choice will likely be ALL THE WINE.

Cheers, y’all. I’ll let you know how it all went down next week.

Leave a Reply

