RWIR #19: Still Optimistic

I’m still optimistic. I say that lightly because, at heart, I’m a bit of a glass-half-empty kind of person. Things have continued to progress injury and pain free over the last week. Though a part of me is still waiting for the other shoe to drop, I am enjoying the ability to do what I want when I want without the frustrating regression. Here’s hoping this is truly the lasting upswing.

Saturday
Activity: Bike/”Hike” + Walk
Relevant Stats: 15-20k bike, 6ish km hiking, 14ish km walking
Observations: I played tour guide but with a guest who was keen to be active. We lazily biked a fair portion of the city, followed it up with not-really-hiking-but-sort-of-hiking in a variety of tourist destinations. Also there was the waffle. And two Miyazaki #2s from Minami, which is the cocktail equivalent of my beloved pecan mudslide.

Sunday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats:3 km, 850 m elevation gain
Observations: My guest asked to be taken to the Grouse Grind…in the early afternoon…on a summer weekend. This was pretty much my worst nightmare. However, a good tour guide must do as their guest asks. And so we went. I tried to warn her of its awfulness but she failed to listen. I left her at the ¼ mark, at her request, to suffer in solitude without my (often annoying) attempts to be a cheerleader.

Monday
Activity: planned rest day
Relevant Stats: Peanut butter cups consumed—1 (which, I think we can all agree, is the epitome of willpower)
Observations: I was supposed to have this entire week off to frolic in local mountains but, thanks to some emergent stuff at work, I had to go in for a series of meetings and lost out on Monday Funday. I was bitter and cranky about it, but thankfully my boyfriend had the foresight to have a bottle of chilled Rose waiting for me and to cook me dinner. Once again, he proves he deserves a medal for putting up with me.

Tuesday
Activity: Personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 minutes of hell
Observations: I believe my trainer is trying to keep my glutes in a perpetual state of tenderness and pain. And she is succeeding. The entire hour was non-stop glute work. My legs barely functioned at the end of the hour. I tried to run back to the office and felt like a lumbering oaf.

Wednesday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 6ish km (I think…), elevation unknown
Observations: Me and the girls headed to Galiano for a couple of days of relaxation. Naturally I had to climb Mount Galiano, the highest of the islands mountains, which is amusing as it’s 311 m above sea level. What I learned on this expedition is that the Galiano trail system is both poorly marked and designed to keep its visitors clueless to distance and elevation gain. The internet failed to provide data on either. Instead, I was offered infuriating time estimates, which mean nothing in the world of hiking. I got lost twice but finally found the summit and some pretty stunning views so I can’t complain.

Thursday
Activity: Run!!!!!!
Relevant Stats: 8.5 km
Observations: Longest run in three months!!!!!! Aside from stopping for a few pictures en route, this was uninterrupted running. It was slow. My lungs were burning. It was hot as hell and I was sweating buckets. Still, it felt fantastic.

Friday
Activity: Strength
Relevant Stats: 40 minutes
Observations: Today was what I like to call an express workout. I took a ferry back from Galiano this morning, went straight to work, and need to leave for the States right after work. Had I planned my life better I probably could have fit in a more quality workout, but…sometimes weekends in the campground trump workouts!

This week gets a bit shiny:
optimism

Happy weekend y’all!

Leave a Reply

