RWIR #18: Things are Gettin’ Real

If you’ve been reading this week, you know that I’ve graduated from physio (for the second time) and am back on that training horse (although it’s more of a training pony at this stage).  Soon, I hope this weekly recap reverts to the good, old-fashioned Training Week in Review (or TWIR), a heading which hasn’t seen the light of day in far, far too long.

Saturday
Activity: Unplanned rest day
Relevant Stats: Grass skirts worn: 1, fried chicken units consumed: 1, cake units consumed: 1 piece (large) + extra frosting donated by crazy people who don’t obsess about frosting, sangria units consumed: I prefer not to specify.
Observations: Though I planned to work out, it was my birthday (!!!!!) and thus I opted for laziness.  We ate eggs for breakfast. We shopped. We had a late lunch of cocktails and ceviche.  We threw an indoor beach party because weather didn’t cooperate.  There was cake. There was sangria. There was potato salad.  There was Justin Timberlake (the music and not the man, sadly). All in all, it was a pretty damn good birthday.

Sunday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 15 km, elevation gain unknown (forgot to turn my app on)
Observations: Longest hike of the season! And with a few small bursts of running to boot. It felt good. I felt strong, albeit a bit dehydrated from Saturday’s sangria. I capped off the day with leftover birthday cake, in a portion so large I actually required a belly rub.

Monday
Activity: Stairs + Strength
Relevant Stats: 60 minutes (30 minutes stairs, 30 minutes strength)
Observations: I’ve been on a mission to avoid indoor workouts, which prompted me to run stairs at Rogers Arena for 30 minutes. It’s surprisingly meditative to go up and down the same set of stairs for that long. It made the 30 minutes of strength training inside the gym all the more tolerable.

Tuesday
Activity: Personal training session
Relevant Stats: 60 minutes
Observations: I have no idea what my trainer did to me that caused so much muscle soreness. I cannot recall my quads ever being so sore. The entire chain of muscle from glutes to calves were in a world of pain.  I miss the days when training sessions were so basic and chill that I didn’t even break a sweat.

Wednesday
Activity: BCMC trail
Relevant Stats: 3 km, elevation gain 850 m
Observations: If you were wondering whether the BCMC hike will loosen up stiff and exhausted muscles, the answer is no.  I felt like I was walking through quicksand the entire way up the trail. I was moving so slowly that my breathing was totally normal.  I just could not make my legs move any faster. They were dead. And it took me SIX MINUTES longer than usual to finish the trail, which on a 3 km hike is a pretty drastic change.

Thursday
Activity: RUN!!!!!!!! & Strength
Relevant Stats: 4.74 km run, 6 min/km pace and 30 min. strength
Observations: I wish I could bottle the feeling of a first run after a long, forced hiatus.  Every step felt like a privilege and my heart swelled with gratitude. It sounds cheesy, I know, and it will not last, but it was amazing in the moment. Best part: no pain. Worst part: damn my legs have lost some strength…and my pace has suffered too.

Friday
Activity: BCMC trail
Relevant Stats: 3 km, 870 m
Observations: Redemption! After an abysmal display of fitness on Wednesday’s BCMC excursion, I was back to my normal (injury) time today.  I drove to the north shore, hiked the trail, cleaned my bathroom, and started a load of laundry all before starting work at 8:30. That impressed even me.

I feel so much more optimistic this week, and like I’m on the path to being my normal, active self.  I’m trying not to get ahead of myself, but I have to say that run on Thursday has got me excited about running again. I give this week a:

running

1 thought on “RWIR #18: Things are Gettin’ Real”

Leave a Reply

