Mid Week Lesson: why I will no longer Google my injuries

Long ago I learned never to Google illnesses.  Inevitably, every symptom you could possibly have turns out to be related to at least one deadly disease.  Injuries, however, somehow seemed safer to Google.  I’ve Googled about my sprained ankles, my sacroiliac, IT band issues, and a whole host of other exercise-related aches and pains. Usually it’s informative, helpful and completely non-terrifying.

Until today.

I’ve had this niggling suspicion that my current injury isn’t just my sacroiliac. In the past, my SI issues have healed roughly 15 times faster and with little to no need for extraordinary measures (i.e. personal trainers and months of avoiding running and becoming besties with my physiotherapist).  Convinced that I know better than my health practitioners, I opted for a quick Google search.  Let’s just say, I now regret this decision.

At first, I found some good information. Initially, it was all light and fluffy and discussing how SI and coccyx issues can be interrelated or mistaken for one another. Naturally, I fell down a rabbit hole of reading about coccydynia and various other ailments of the coccyx. I thought I would find some sort of silver-bullet fix for my injury. Instead, as I read more, I became more alarmed at the sheer multitude of coccyx-related ailments and their causes. It wasn’t always pretty.

Things I read that I wish I could unread:

      • “Your doctor could also look for pilonidal cysts, which are cysts that occur only in the tailbone region, and are caused by infection of ingrown hair follicles. Successful treatment of these kinds of cysts may help relieve pain or remove pain altogether.” What!?! Ingrown hair follicles can exist around one’s tailbone?!? Is this just something that occurs for men or for women as well? How does this happen? Wait, I actually don’t want to know the answer to that question.
      • Internal coccyx correction is a thing!?! I’m not going to include the description of the procedure, though you can read about it in the link (I don’t encourage that either). Suffice it to say, imagine where the coccyx is (the tailbone) and how you would manipulate muscles around it only with “internal access”. I have pretty high trust in health care practitioners…but not that much trust. To top it off, I read this: “If the problem is acute, from a recent trauma, it may respond in one to two adjustments. The average case takes four to six treatments.”  It was bad enough when I thought someone would only have to suffer this indignity once, but knowing that it could take up to six treatments? No.
      • Sacral chordomas are a very rare and malignant cancerous tumor that “do not cause symptoms until the tumor is quite large”. I should have known if I Googled injuries for long enough I’d find some link to a rare and potentially life-threatening form of cancer!
      • As an anxiety-prone person who also likes to worry needlessly about worst-case scenarios, I am now wracked with fear of deadly diseases and the very real worry that the only solution to my issue is internal coccyx correction.

Leave a Reply

