RWIR #10: Triumphant Return of the (Super Flat) Trail!

Welcome back to another week of rehab training, this week featuring the world’s easiest “hike”.  My goal for this week was every day 60 minute cardio sessions and some form of trail. Done and done. Let’s see how we did.

Saturday
Activity: “Hike” + Elliptical/Stairs/Bike/Rehab
Relevant Stats:
Hike–8km, 1 hr 40 min., elevation 174m
Gym–25 min elliptical, 15 min stairs, 10 min bike, 15 min rehab exercises
Observations: My most active day in a while by a long shot! The trail felt great and I was thrilled to be back in nature.  All I saw were trees but it was still fantastic.  Aside from skidding on a couple rocks, I had zero pain and zero post-hike stiffness.  All in all, it felt like progress.

Sunday
Activity: None
Relevant Stats: Unplanned rest day
Observations: I had the best plans for a lengthy gym session to keep my momentum going and ended up watching six hours of golf instead (I know, I don’t know who I am either). We rounded out the day with a 40 minute walk…to dinner…which involved three courses of rich and fatty goodness.  No regrets.

Monday
Activity: Spin + Rehab
Relevant Stats: 60 min spin, 40 minutes rehab exercises
Observations: There was a time in my life where I used to work out twice a day, because I thought I needed to. I had vague flashbacks to that on Monday as I did my cardio during the day and then went back to the gym after work to fit in my rehab exercises. It’s not a habit I want to get back into but it’s definitely hard to fit both in to the work day.

Tuesday
Activity: Elliptical intervals
Relevant Stats: 60 min.
Observations: I still loathe the elliptical but I have found that if I use intervals like I do on a spin bike it is mildly more tolerable. Time also seems to move at a more reasonable speed.  Win-win.  I also saw my physiotherapist and he says I can hike again! Okay, okay, that’s not really what he said. I still need to keep it super moderate with elevation gain/loss, but I will take good news where I can get it.

Wednesday
Activity: Training Session + Spin
Relevant Stats: 60 min training + 4o min spin
Observations: Who cares about spin. I got to do single leg weight bearing exercises with my trainer!!!! I have been told that this is the step that will tell us I am ready to hike again. PROGRESS!

Thursday
Activity: Spin + Elliptical + Rehab Exercises
Relevant Stats: 25 minutes spin, 30 minutes Elliptical, 35 minutes rehab exercises
Observations: Wednesday’s weighted single-leg deadlifts were to the most action my poor legs have seen in a while and left me feeling sluggish and unmotivated. As a result, I knocked out a feeble 55 minutes of cardio and a condensed version of my prescribed rehab routine for the week.

Friday
Activity: stairs + rehab exercises
Relevant Stats: 65 min. total
Observations: Ugh. Early morning workouts…mentally they are not my jam. But I am heading away for the long weekend and needed to fit in an official workout to round out the week.

Verdict on the week: Progress is definitely there and I am feeling suuuuuper optimistic that June will officially kick off hiking season on legit trails with legit elevation gain.

i got this

Next week’s goals:  Graduate to a real hike by the weekend (i.e. minimum 400 m elevation gain and 10k return distance) which isn’t my usual standard of difficult by a long shot but is waaaaaaay harder than anything I’ve done in well over a month.

Leave a Reply

