Monday Musings: Refusing to Accept the “Inevitable”

I am surrounded by people telling me my injury will take a long time to heal, that it will take me maybe months to get back to running or even back to hiking on trails, that I need to be patient and take my time to heal. I understand that there is an element to truth to that. I fully recognize, for instance, that at this moment in time I am not physically able to run or hike. My body is telling me with sharp, stabbing pain.

On the flipside, I absolutely refuse to believe that I’ll actually be out of commission for months.  I’m fairly certain that most people around me think I’m wrong, think I’m being needlessly stubborn, think that I’m bound to rush back to activities only to re-injure myself.  What they fail to realize is that, while stubborn, I’m also the idealist.

I actually believe that I can will myself back to faster recovery. It’s my own version of the “if you build it, they will come” school of thought. Okay, let’s take a step back because I realize that likely sounds crazy.  I don’t mean that I’ll just think about getting better, but never take action, and somehow see massively accelerated improvements. That would be lunacy.

What I’m talking about is maintaining the firm belief that faster recovery is possible and letting that belief fuel my actions in a way that gets me to infinitely faster recovery. It’s sort of the fake it til you make it idea–but on hyper speed. My belief: I will be back on the trails in May. They may not be the steepest or the longest trails, and I don’t imagine myself running on them, but I will hike in May. To do that, I’m going to have to train smart and slow. I’m going to have to discount a lot of voices telling me not to. I’m going to have to balance professional medical advice with listening to my own body. I will not let this SI issue defeat me or ruin my summer hiking plans.

This week’s step towards making my belief a reality: integrate some form of lower body activity (strength training or non-impact cardio) & meet with personal trainer.

Some might say the road to recovery is long and, while I think some injuries warrant this, I also think we discount the huge role that our mental state plays in recovery. So I’m going to buck the trend and prove everyone else wrong (which, as an added benefit, is one of my favourite things to do). I got this.

2 thoughts on “Monday Musings: Refusing to Accept the “Inevitable””

  1. Even if you can’t run wouldn’t another activity like swimming or cycling work while recovering? It can be quite annoying to make a switch like that but maybe better than the alternatives.

    Like

    1. I would love to have looked at either of those options. At the time I wrote that post cycling was a definite no-go for me, and swimming…well, I have never really learned to swim properly. But as of this week I’m back to being able to cycle so things are looking up!

      Like

Leave a Reply

