TWIR #7

I am starting to question even calling this a training week in review since training was actually non-existent.  However, I am nothing if not a follower of traditions, and so here we go.

Saturday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 3km, 854 m elevation gain, 57 minutes
Observations:
This was my first annual outing on the BCMC trail (for non-Vancouverites, this is a trail that runs parallel to our famous Grouse Grind, also known as “nature’s staircase”). I hate the BCMC almost as much as the Grouse Grind, but at least it is less crowded and still has a bit of a trail feel vs. manicured-staircase-in-nature feel. Also, it is a good workout. I was five minutes off my time from last year. Even worse, I started to feel my SI tightening about half way up but, once you’re that far, it’s just as easy to keep going up. In hindsight, this hike turned out to be a very poor choice.

Sunday
Activity: Walk
Relevant Stats: 11km at a snail’s pace. I’m not joking it literally took over an hour to walk three km.
Observations:
By Saturday night it was abundantly clear that I would not be running or hiking or doing any form of workout on Sunday. We opted for a walk, and quite possibly the slowest walk of my life. We were passed by old people. More than once. I am never sure whether it’s good to walk when injured. Sitting all day makes it hurt. Walking makes it hurt. It is a cruel catch 22. All I know is that it felt okay in the moment but terrible by the end of the day.

Monday
Activity: Walk
Relevant Stats: 30 minutes, snail pace
Observations:
I literally could barely stand on Monday morning. Walking seemed impossible. I booked an emergency physiotherapy session but knew there was no workout happening. It was bad. The day in general was bad.

Tuesday
Activity: None
Relevant Stats: Wine consumption: 1 glass, Cocktail Consumption: 1, SI Belts Employed: One
Observations:
I cannot even talk about my physiotherapy appointment though I’m sure once I wrap my head around it you can expect a post. Based on physio, drinks were in order. I also dusted off my SI belt, which hasn’t seen the light of day in five years, and it was quickly dubbed the “sexy time interference belt.” Yep, it was that kind of day.

Wednesday
Activity: None
Relevant Stats: Out of bed in under 10 minutes! Win!
Observations:
Day four of sedentary living. If I were at least seeing progress I would have felt okay about it, but the pain had barely decreased and it had me more discouraged than I’ve been in years. If I’d have had wine at home, I would have taken a face-first dive into it. My coping mechanisms are questionable at best.

Thursday
Activity: None
Relevant Stats: 6.5 km of slow-ass walking!!!
Observations:
Thursday was mildly exciting because my pace elevated from that of an 90 year old woman to that of an 80 year old woman. Also, we were able to try some active release therapy for the first time in days. Although still not walking normally, improvements (of the painfully slow variety) were happening.

Friday
Activity: primarily coffee drinking
Relevant Stats: Successfully non-painful entrance/exit from shower. Major fait accompli!
Observations:
My wrist is inexplicably in tremendous pain, as if it is sprained when there is no possible way that it could be (as in, I’ve done nothing that would realistically have caused an injury). My only conclusion is that my body is falling apart. On the plus side, I was able to partially bend at the waist today and put on pants and socks without severe pain.

Needless to say, it has been a discouraging and difficult week. I have never taken this many days off with absolutely no form of exercise. Usually I’m at least able to do something. It is a tough pill to swallow that it could be several more days before I’m even able to engage in the most basic of exercise. And so, here is what I think of this week (plus I absolutely adore that I found this. It makes zero sense to me, and so I love it):

INJURIES SUCK

Leave a Reply

