TWIR #5

It’s Friday and we all know what Friday means! It’s time for TWIR. This week brings new lows of in the training process so let’s get this over with.

Saturday
Activity: Planned rest day, walking
Relevant Stats:  18km, churro consumption: one (I consider this a major feat of discipline)
Observations: This was part travel day and part Disneyland day of fun. I didn’t plan to work out so I felt good about the fact that I fit in 18km of walking. There was also some jumping and skipping, amidst the merriment and excitement of reuniting with my inner child.

Sunday
Activity: Walking
Relevant Stats: 26 km, hydration via beer and sangria
Observations:
I had planned for a second rest day on this trip, knowing full well that I would be exhausted after a 5am start on Saturday followed by epic day of travel and rides and walking. This turned out to be an excellent choice as Sunday involved an early start and a whole lot of walking.

Monday
Activity: walking
Relevant stats: 22km, multiple sangria, infinite guacamole
Observations:
I fully intended to do something on Monday morning. The park didn’t open until 9am. I set my alarm for 6:25 to do a workout at 6:30 and still get grab a coffee and breakfast before hitting the park gates. Sadly, the delightful comfort of bed won this battle. I promised myself Tuesday would be different.

Tuesday
Activity: Walking
Relevant Stats: 18km, multiple beer, 1 Mickey Mouse pretzel, 1 ice cream
Observations:
Tuesday was not, in fact, different. By the end of the day Monday, I was not only exhausted but also experiencing such stiffness in my legs and back that I had no desire to workout. Once I realized that I’d have to get up around 5:30 to fit a workout in at all, I quickly abandoned all plans for working out.

Wednesday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 11km, 723 m of elevation gain
Observations:
This felt harder than it should have care of all the eating, drinking, and walking over the last four days. But it was a start.

Thursday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 8.4 km, 1 SI meltdown
Observations:
This run felt good until it did not feel good. As in, things were fine until 7.6 km in when they started to feel not so great and then quickly escalated into “I need to stop immediately”, at which point I walked 3km back to the office. As luck would have it, I had a physio appointment already booked as I’m on a preventative maintenance plan, which turned into a can-you-help-me-walk-normally-again appointment (answer: no). More to come on this new (and awful) injury development…

Friday
Activity: Spin
Relevant Stats: 60 min, fairly low intensity, no sprints
Observations: When given a choice between elliptical and spin without intensity/standing climbs, I will still choose spin. Because I loathe the elliptical. But in terms of how I felt about today’s workout, I don’t want to talk about it. I am not good with injuries.

Only one thing can capture the essence of this week’s training:
how i feel about training this week

1 thought on “TWIR #5”

Leave a Reply

