TWIR #4

How has it been four weeks on this here blog? Time flies when you’re in hardcore training [insert sarcastic wink here]. Let’s see what this week had in store:

Saturday
Activity: Trail(ish) Run
Relevant Stats: 16km, 349 m of elevation gain, average pace of 6:14 min/km
Observations:
Slow and steady was the theme for the day. My target destination was the Capilano Pacific trail from Ambleside to Cleveland Dam. It is part road, part wide gravel trail, and part non-technical forest trail. I was trying to gently reintroduce myself to trail running to prevent injuries and succeeded. I also shocked myself by running almost all the way to Cleveland Dam without walking. I may have been motivated by the plans to roast hot dogs and s’mores that evening. Pre-emptive exercise is totally a thing.

Sunday
Activity: Hike
Relevant Stats: 12.5km, 819 m of elevation gain, average pace around 12 min/km.
Observations:
Yesterday’s trail run has left my sacrum in shambles. Although I wanted to try to run parts of the trail, I could not. My poor trail companion had to settle for a slower pace. She also had to settle for an incomplete hike when we encountered avalanche covered trail and the need to detour by crossing a lake. Given recent warm temperatures I wasn’t confident that the lake would be totally frozen and I have an absolute fear of plunging through ice and having the surface freeze over once I fall in. I think I saw this in a movie once and now treat it as though it’s the only possible outcome.

Monday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 12.91 km, 101 m of elevation. Average pace unknown because my running app paused 100 m into my run.
Observations:
It was a rare day that felt amazing from about 2km into the run. I was slow and steady (again) and even threw in a bonus hill run up Yew (40 m gain in 400m) and across the Cambie bridge. The extra added bonus was running into the wind the entire way to Kits Beach. Damn these oceanside cities!

Tuesday
Activity: Spin? Core?
Relevant Stats: 35 min spin, 10 minutes core
Observations:
This was one of those days where I wanted to do nothing. And so I half-assed a spin workout then half-assed some core work. There is no other way to slice it. This was a workout fail.

Wednesday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 5.5k, average pace of 5:25 min/km, elevation gain minimal
Observations:
Morning runs are not my jam. Also, this was supposed to be a rest day but because I am away Saturday-Tuesday I forced myself to skip this week’s rest. Also, these are all excuses and really I was lazy and this was a terrible run.

Thursday
Activity: Run
Relevant Stats: 8.7km, elevation gain 112m, average pace of 5:40 min/km
Observations:
This entire run was an exercise (pun intended) in persistence. I had dead legs and zero motivation despite glorious Spring weather. Was it because I haven’t taken a rest day this week? Was it because I had too many running days this week and was over running? Was it all the sugar? Was it because I’m either fighting a cold or my allergies are kicking in? Or was it just another sign of a bad week? I may never know but I am proud that I pushed through and fit another hill run in.

Friday
Activity: Team bootcamp
Relevant Stats: 48 minutes, 6.4km of running intervals + sets of various things
Observations:
If others weren’t so excited (translation: committed to) about today’s bootcamp, I would undoubtedly have bailed on this one today. Energy levels were at their lowest in a while. Motivation was waning. Even the sunshine wasn’t a draw for me. In the end, some solid hill repeats helped me get out of my funk.

I tried a bit harder this week to actually think about building hill endurance and am trying to integrate more hills into all my runs. So despite the three terrible workouts, I give myself the following:

hills

Leave a Reply

